A Moment In Time – 3

The rain is here. Its misty presence over the sea, in the valleys and through the trees is a welcome sight. The birds look wet and bedraggled, yet perky and animated. Our garden, dripping jewels, is alive with promise. A circling kite, like a rain god weaving spells, cries out and fades in to the distance. A dishevelled man huddles under the bridge. For him the rain is not welcome.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in A Moment In Time, Beauty, Contemplation, Life, Poetry, Prose, Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Moment In Time – 3

  1. Darrel H says:

    I can see what your words are saying. #descriptive 🙂

    Like

  2. QueasyPeasy says:

    There is something magical about mist across the water – mystical even! Bedraggled and animated, wet and perky – I like the contrasts.

    Like

  3. We had a lovely thunderstorm here a couple of nights ago – the first rain for months. It was so very welcome!
    I love the way you describe your softer rain, Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Linda. Thunderstorms are so spectacular and visible. I enjoy them too. We don’t have many, but the soft ongoing rain, often to the holidaymakers’ despair, is what we experience. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hariod Brawn says:

    Perspective is everything.

    Like

  5. ptero9 says:

    Beautiful Don!

    You could be describing my town in Oregon right now. 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Debra. Some years back I travelled up the West Coast. I always feel a little cheated that I was unable to make Oregon. Not sure why but the name always fills my mind with masses of beautiful tall trees and I just love the word, “Oregon.” I like what is does to your mouth when you say it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. nrhatch says:

    Well drawn images, Don. Rain is so essential . . . but I wouldn’t want to be that man under the bridge.

    Like

  7. What a beautiful description of a moment in time Don!
    Diana xo

    Like

  8. You paint as well with words as with brushes, Don. Very vivid and real.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. davecenker says:

    Perspective is so key to humanity. Up until the last line of this evocative offering, I felt presented with a calm and soothing environment to sink myself into. And with the last sentence, it becomes very evident that there is always a different angle to every story. Beautiful imagery and powerful words, thank you for sharing Don.

    Like

  10. Don, our normally rainy, autumn weather (as lovely as yo’ve described) turned suddenly cold yesterday. My husband is wondering about the homeless man he saw walking barefoot earlier in the week. You’ve poignantly reminded us that every scenario has two sides.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

  11. ladyfi says:

    A beautiful description – and yet so sad due to the homeless man.

    Like

Leave a Reply

