An Orchid

IMG_0737.16

This Orchid blooms every year on our front verandah. When it does we place it in our lounge where it gives us great joy. With the bottom image (the same image) I played with the Black/White colour focus and quite liked the effect. πŸ™‚

IMG_0737.15

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Beauty, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to An Orchid

  1. How beautiful Don. The orchid is a special flower. I often think of it as a fragile beauty. I like the effect you have created as well. Artist and photographer? Very talented.
    Karen

    Like

  2. some flowers just love to bloom this time of year. stunning

    Like

  3. Val Boyko says:

    Beautiful Don. I love both photos and can imagine it in its living room glory once again πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. What a beautiful flower! I don’t seem able to keep Orchids flowering. They die after one season. This one is lovely and it’s good to know it flowers each year. I like you B&W effects too. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Sally. We don’t do anything special to it and yet it blooms like this every year. Obviously we’re doing something right. Not asking too many questions. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Hi Don, So beautiful. Thank you.

    Like

  6. YesRising says:

    like an old friend, beauty returns to sit with you for a while…I Love those photos!
    πŸ™‚ Richard

    Like

  7. Dan Antion says:

    These are beautiful !

    Like

  8. Both photos are beautiful, Don – especially because the orchid is so beautiful. πŸ™‚ You have captured the blooms so well.

    Like

  9. nrhatch says:

    Orchid blooms are beautiful. Glad you celebrate its arrival each year.

    Like

  10. davecenker says:

    Beautiful work with the black and white/color mixture. It is almost as if the flower is leaping out of the page in three dimensions. May it continue to bring you great joy Don πŸ˜‰

    Like

  11. Susan Feniak says:

    Stunning! Lucky you an orchid blooming on the porch!!

    Like

  12. Beautiful! I have always loved the juxtaposition of red and black/white.

    Like

  13. calvin says:

    I thought you to be a Orchid kinda guy. And that’s a good thing. Here, for the most part Orchids are store bought and indoors only.

    Like

    • Don says:

      So good to hear from you Calvin. Been thinking of you. Miss your writing, your presence and your wit. Don’t want to rush you, but I sincerely hope you’re coming back. How’s Elvira?

      Sometimes I think I’m an “awkward” kind of guy. πŸ™‚ Keep well and thanks so much for dropping by.

      Like

  14. April says:

    Beautiful flower and photos!

    Like

  15. ladyfi says:

    What a gorgeous shot.

    Like

  16. Amazing, Don. Such a vivid combination of colors, and in the second shot the black and white sets it off beautifully. I’ve never had much luck growing orchids, so I really appreciate these pictures.

    Like

  17. An orchid speaksβ€”it seems to have a faceβ€”its picture is as much a portrait as a still-life … do you use photoshop? This week I was asked into another class to show the students how to use that program’s layers and masks to make vignettes and use selective focus and color. as you did. I thought of your image there/then.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Howard. I just use picasa and then I really don’t do that much with it. Yes you right , I kind of see a face. Thank you for your comment – appreciate it.

      Like

  18. Gorgeous photo! Everything here is about to be buried under a foot of snow. I’m so looking forward to replacing snow and wind chills with flowers and vibrant colors!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks very much. I envy you all there. You have such definite distinctions between the seasons. Here on the coast where we live there are no real distinctions. I miss the seasons. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

