Buying A Pair Jeans – A Nightmare

Just got back with my wife Jane after her venture in to buying a pair of jeans for herself. What a morning, like climbing Everest.

Going from shop to shop with her, carrying a mountain of jeans in to each of the fitting rooms, I thought, instead of just standing there looking overwhelmed by some great philosophical question on life, let me really get in to this and try and understand exactly what was going on. So I did. I listened carefully to what was said, I looked painstakingly at what was shown, and I heard the frustration behind the words. Guess what; I actually saw the problem. That’s right, I actually got it. Three things.

Firstly, the variety is mindboggling, with bootleg, straight, and ankle fit, then regular skinny and wide, low rise and regular rise in various permutations, and that’s not even speaking about colour yet. Secondly, in our country too many pairs of jeans are made in China where sizes compared with those in Africa are about as different as miles are from kilometres. Thirdly, and here I need to tread carefully, Jane looks pretty good for her age, but not all women are endowed with the thin shapely legs of a Twiggy, damnit, now I’m showing my age.

Anyway, we finally found a pair pair of jeans invoking much celebration and I went home a tired, but much wiser man, and Jane, a happy and satisfied woman. 🙂

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Life, Men and Women, Our Bodies, Shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Buying A Pair Jeans – A Nightmare

  1. Holli says:

    Wait until she goes shopping for a bathing suit. Actually, maybe just be waiting at the door with a cup of her favourite tea.

    Like

  2. Happy wife, happy life! I love that you went with her – you’re a good husband Don! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    There should be an award for this. You’re a good man.

    Like

  4. Amazing post, Don – I really mean that. Jane is so lucky to have you.

    Like

  5. Val Boyko says:

    You are awesome Don ❤
    I hope you encouraged her buy more than one pair 😉

    Like

  6. renxkyoko says:

    The trick here is to stick to one brand, the brand that fits into all our nooks and crannies.

    Like

  7. seaangel4444 says:

    Don, your shopping trip with Jane will have far-reaching consequences more than you know. For your efforts, I know she will be so incredibly grateful and will realize what it means for a man to partake in such a venture. It’s confusing for women to buy jeans, let alone for men. I applaud you, dear Don!! ❤

    Like

  8. Hariod Brawn says:

    Some say that, as with climbing Mount Everest, reading Heidegger is challenging; but his complexity pales once one is faced with selecting an appropriate pair of jeans in the modern age.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hariod, so strange you should say this. Sometime ago I bought Michael Inwood’s book on Heidegger in the, “A very Short Introduction” series and have been reading it recently and I have to concur. You’re right. Now isn’t that quite amazing? Some kind of synchronicity going on. 🙂

      Like

      • Hariod Brawn says:

        Oh, that is quite a coincidence; as to what on earth made me think of Heidegger in relation to your shopping expedition, well, it completely escapes me Don. I read Roger Scruton’s book on Spinoza from that same O.U.P. series and wasn’t overly impressed with the writing to be frank; I think I just didn’t gel with Scruton’s style. Take care Don.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Don says:

        Hariod, you are not going to believe this but I’ve just finished Roger Scruton’s book “Beauty” and I must say that I’m not overly impressed by his style as well. Liked what he conveyed, but so dry and in places so pedantic..

        Like

      • Hariod Brawn says:

        Yikes – perhaps ‘coincidence’ was the wrong word Don!

        As you said “some kind of synchronicity going on”. o_O

        Liked by 1 person

  9. You’re a good husband, Don. Thanks for making me smile.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

  10. You’re a keeper, Don. In Jane’s eyes, of course. Well done!

    Like

  11. nrhatch says:

    Opportunities to practice “being in the moment” abound . . . especially in fitting rooms!

    Like

  12. You are a star! My lovely Mr S also has the patience of a saint! 🙂

    Like

  13. What a lovely partner you are Don, not many men would brave the world of change rooms and women’s clothes! Glad you both survived unscathed and alive!!

    Like

  14. You’re such a good sport! I go online and buy a bazillion pair. I try them all on in the comfort of my house, keep the best pair or two, and ship the others back. Saves me and impatient sales folks a day long headache this way 😀

    Like

    • Don says:

      Wow! Now that’s doing it in style. Little chance of doing that here in Africa. But I’m sure it will happen some day. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

      Like

  15. valleygrail says:

    That was so thoughtful of you to support her in finding just the right jeans. Well done!

    Like

  16. Lovely effort, Don. I’ll bet your wife appreciated your attention.
    I have the same problems here when I want to buy a pair of jeans – every problem you listed. Often, I have no success at all, so, when I do find a suitable pair, I buy two of them. 🙂

    Like

  17. tomsimard says:

    Your account of that search for a pair of jean certain resonates with me. I have the feeling that jean size is a problem that exists in a lot of places, certainly where I live, and makes me wonder how thin we’re expected to be. Your whole experience is rather how I find shopping in general.

    Glad to hear you were able to find something (imagine if after all that work you hadn’t!), and she came away satisfied – that’s all that really matters.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Tom. Yes, as I was saying to Linda, I do think with you that it is a universal kind of problem. Have spoke to a number of people who have experienced the same kind of thing.

      Like

  18. Susan Feniak says:

    As much as I dislike the following line I will have to say it, been there done that!!! Jeans and bathing suits are cursed. And I swear there are clothing factory workers somewhere that have a good giggle everyday. Good for you for going with your wife!

    Like

  19. April says:

    Very nice of you to attend the jean shopping. I finally found a brand that is made for women which fit as they should–near the waist, not sitting on my hips. I love them, but a bathing suit? Never. Nope, no bathing suits for me. 🙂 Happy shopping.

    Like

  20. ptero9 says:

    Dear Don,

    It’s both heart warming and amazing what that you tracked with Jane, and the modern woman’s dilemma of jean shopping and also that you shared your understanding with us.

    I shop for jeans only when absolutely necessary for the reasons you stated. Because I can, I often go with a pair of tried and true Levis in hte boys department. I try them on and bingo, same size that fit me last year fits.

    With women’s clothes, a 6 in one brand could fit like an 8 in another brand. It’s trult exasperating!

    xoxo
    Debra

    P.S. I, too, am blessed with a a very patient husband who usually is willing to endure shopping with me. I may have the jeans figured out, but the shoes? No, never… 🙂

    Like

  21. ladyfi says:

    Ugh – I hate shopping for myself or with anyone else. But I have a daughter and have to practise patience… Good on you for sticking it out.

    Like

  22. how fun! she must have a small waist, so the jeans fit in the hips but are way too big in the hourglass waist… it’s difficult to find anything that fits in latin america, where the standard woman stands about five inches shorter than i. it’s difficult to find a pair of jeans that fits anywhere. one would think that a clothing designer wouuld eventually design jeans that fit the average woman (and not twiggy!)

    Like

  23. You are a brave and kind man! My husband has experienced my shopping for jeans, many a good pair of boots, and now some comfortable Althleta wear! He was great help… listening to me grumble in the dressing room and going back out for different sizes and fits. I know he could hardly wait for wine time or a good shot of scotch.. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

