From My Sketchbook – 33

A stretch of fallow ground in the Orange Free State. I used pencil and touches of coloured pencil as well.

.8

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, From My Sketchbook, inspiration, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 33

  1. April says:

    Do you ever sell any sketches? They are wonderful!

    Like

    • Don says:

      No I don’t sell them April. I’ve given quite a few away, but I’ve never felt the need to sell them. I do it for the sheer enjoyment of it and then I just file them away. I also keep them small. Each sketch is about the size of half an A4 sheet, so they don’t take up space. The work really just keeps my soul intact. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for asking.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s so beautiful Don. Your drawing would make great cards…you know with a small write up on the back about where and what?
    Diana xo

    Like

  3. and by drawing, I meant drawingS

    Like

  4. I love this one Don, it feels light and expansive.

    Like

  5. I love the delicacy and detail in your drawings and I like how you say that the act of drawing ‘keeps your soul intact’ . A beautiful way to put it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. renxkyoko says:

    Wow ! I ‘d like to have an original. ( kidding ! ) It’s beautiful.

    Like

  7. nrhatch says:

    Lovely . . . especially the sky.

    Like

  8. It’s all nicely done, Don, but the clouds and skyline are exceptional. Well done!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Marylin. The sky has always been something special for me. There is something about the African sky. You probably have the same feelings about your skies, Marylin. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  9. I love this one, Don. It and many of your others would make great greeting cards.

    Like

  10. Darrel H says:

    I need to visit the Orange Free State a whole lot more ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  11. josna says:

    This is one to cherish, Don. I love it.

    Like

  12. What a beautiful composition Don! I am visiting from Ellen’s lovely space. Off to nose around here a bit more. Cheers, Margie

    Like

Leave a Reply

