Extracts From My Journal – 1

Sunday, 15 February 2015 at 23:16

No one disputes the need for morality, but I’ve often asked myself if there aren’t moments in life when we are so full of morality that there’s simply no space left for compassion. I know there are. I saw an example of one such moment today.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Life, My Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Extracts From My Journal – 1

  1. I want to hear your example Don! ā¤
    Diana xo

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Diana. A teenager was arrested for shoplifting. He stole some meat from a super market and was arrested and removed by the police.Now I know that the crime of shoplifting has become extremely problematic and shops are losing enormous amounts of money because of it. But this young boy comes from a terribly poor background, and I mean poor, and I just think that the whole thing could have been handled a little differently if only his context and something of his story was taken in to consideration. Sadly, all that was seen was that he had stolen and therefore was a thief and had to be dealt with. Hopefully the courts will bring a little humanity in to the situation.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Val Boyko says:

    I would bring in a distinction here Don. Having a moral code is different from being right and self righteous about a particular belief or rule.
    When the brain takes over from the heart.. when the “rule” becomes more important than humanity … compassion is lost.
    I believe we must have mind and heart connected to be compassionate beings.
    Pope Francis is good example – sending the message to his cardinals to be compassionate rather than following rigorous the catholic church’s dogma.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. calvin says:

    I wrote three lines in the name of compassion.
    I heard but one echo back.
    I think the world fears intimacy or it’s walls made of jellyfish.
    What do you think?
    The moral road has a troubled past, it twists and turns at will looking for high ground. Compassion on the other hand finds it way blindly, totally unaware, morality even exists.

    Like

    • Don says:

      “The moral road has a troubled past, it twists and turns at will looking for high ground.” I love that sentence of yours Calvin. So astute and descriptive and so true. Also your next sentence, “Compassion on the other hand finds it way blindly, totally unaware, morality even exists,” is also a gem. I think that somehow when these two sentences and what they are describing come together we then have something more balanced and integrated. something of what what Val was saying in her comment about having mind and heart connected.

      Like

  4. I saw a lovely story the other day where compassion ruled. A policeman was called to a grocery store to deal with a shop lifter. Instead of arresting her, he bought her groceries for her and took her home. His personal morality combined with compassion to equal true humanity. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree with Val, compassion is from the heart and what I have found is when you have not experienced compassion for yourself, it is difficult to experience it for others. Compassion feels, Morality thinks. You do have us all wondering Don, what your lovely experience was! šŸ™‚ You are very good and invoking discussion.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Karen. Compassion feels, morality thinks. I like that. But as Val says we need both. I described the event in my response to Diana’s comment at the top of the page.

      Like

  6. Hariod Brawn says:

    What will vegans do when and if panpsychism is proven – stop eating altogether?

    Like

  7. I think we overuse morality to defend against our own fears. People on high horses often fear the power in the humbleness of the earth.

    Like

  8. I was just writing about how knowing the depths of our own sorrow magnifies compassion. I have a feeling I understand your sentiment without knowing the example. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Amanda. I’m certainly with you on that. I believe there is a direct link between the amount of compassion we show ourselves and the compassion we give to others.

      Like

  9. Can you share the specifics, Don? I agree with what you’re saying and have my own personal examples, but I’d like to hear yours.

    Like

  10. Kathy says:

    How on earth can a person be truly moral without compassion! Listening inside me to what my heart says makes me human and real and true. Codes for caring come from the care we give ourselves,I cannot love/have compassion for others unless I have met, and loved with all the understanding love is, myself. Sorry about the jumble of words. I feel very strongly about the fact that learning to love ourselves properly is key to giving value to others and doing for them what we would have them do for us.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Kathy, I couldn’t agree more. That’s precisely what Karen was saying in her comment. The way I treat myself lies at the heart of how I treat others – no doubt about that. Your words were certainly not jumbled. You expressed it marvellously, Kathy.

      Like

  11. davecenker says:

    Great to have you back Don šŸ˜‰ This is a perfect example of not being able to see the forest through the trees. Sometimes we get so focused on the minute details of what we’re “supposed” to do that we forget to just be compassionate human beings.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Mary says:

    So nice to have you back Don. Compassion, a key ingredient for the glue that holds society, seems to be missing these days. Your example is one situation, but over the last two months I’ve heard of two complete opposite (as noted above with mybeautifulthings) and another Mother stealing diapers and formula from a local store, guess what the police officer did? Bought her the diapers and formula, a choice between the law or a starving baby – she cried.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. ladyfi says:

    So true – moral outrage is so often the opposite of compassion!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

