From My Sketchbook – 34

I’ve been doing a bit of Zen art which I’ve thoroughly enjoyed. Here’s a quick Zen like sketch I did yesterday. I’ve been fascinated by the role of the line, the space and simplicity of the art form. I’m trying to learn the art of creating and seeing a steady line which is such an important part of Zen art.

2015-02-21 11.30.08

0203723

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, From My Sketchbook, imagination, inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 34

  1. Dear Don, Wonderful art – thank you. Ellen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    These are very nice. I enjoy seeing how and when people who are accomplished at an art form work to stretch the boundaries of their skill set. Thanks for bringing us along.

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    Zen sketches => less is more. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mary says:

    Wonderful Don – really like seeing line art, from the fluid lines to construction of subject. Neat form of art that I’ve not tried.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Val Boyko says:

    I love this exploration Don!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anonymous says:

    “The space and the simplicity of the Art Form” love these Zen words Don and your drawings. Where did you discover this Art?

    Like

  7. “The space and simplicity of the art form” Love these Zen words Don and your Art. Where did you discover Zen Art? šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Karen. I’ve been doing quite a bit of reading around the whole subject of Zen Philosophy in which in which they also speak about the importance of art in the philosophy itself, especially what is called Sumi – e. I find it extremely invigorating.

      Like

  8. You’re so talented Don, they’re beautiful. ā¤
    Diana xo

    Like

  9. They’re both lovely, Don, but the “role of the line” in the first is outstanding.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. davecenker says:

    Beautiful work Don, thanks for sharing. I am always so amazed how the simplicity of a line can take on an infinite number of meanings depending on where it is placed and how it is drawn by the artist’s mind šŸ˜‰ Well done!

    Like

  11. ladyfi says:

    I really like that first sketch!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. calvin says:

    Don’t you think, the importance of the line lays in the space it creates. With one fluid stroke, line and space become one. Your not making a line as much as defining a space. You could draw the world one stroke at a time. Be it the perfect line, the perfect picture, the perfect word, the esthetic itself teeters on the Zen and the Existential. Fun shtufffs this drawing exploration of yours, Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Calvin. What you say is marvellous and so true. When you think of it in that way it takes you to all sorts of places. Thank you for the thought. It will be uppermost in my mind as I draw lines. šŸ™‚

      Like

  13. Aquileana says:

    Great paintings Don. congratulations!… All my best wishes to you. Aquileana šŸ˜€

    Like

  14. I love that you have a sketchbook tab of your blog, Ken! Peeking into the sketchbooks of artists is one of my guilty pleasures. Thank you for sharing your creativity!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

