Thinking Spots

Diana whose blog I follow over at talktodiana.wordpress.com took us on a little walkabout pointing out, by means of photos, significant places in her city. What I really warmed to in the post was a photo of a bench beside a river which she called her “Thinking Spot” a bench where she obviously does a lot of thinking and reflecting. To me the term was so natural, simple and delightfully secular, no place of great spiritual epiphany, just an ordinary loved “thinking spot” in the midst of life. I like that. I really do.

I’ve been on the move for most of my life and in that moment as I read her post I was taken back to all my “Thinking Spots,” rivers, mountains, gardens, parks, forests and a myriad of other places, places where I lay down, where I stood, where I sat and where I simply walked,  places where I thought about things, where I thought about what I was thinking about, where I watched myself thinking, where I changed my thinking and where I simply allowed or tried to allow my thinking to cease. Soon I’ll be saying  goodbye again to my existing thinking spots and will have to find new ones in a new country. It’s sad, but that said, I’m also filled with new anticipation and joy.  Thank you Diana. 🙂

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Transformation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Thinking Spots

  1. Biddy Bailey says:

    Hullo Don, have just read “thinking spots”. Are you moving to London? Love, Biddy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Hi Biddy. So good to hear from you. Hope you’re keeping well. Yes we are moving to the UK to be with our family. We have finally made the decision to go. We are really looking forward to being there. Appreciate your interest.

      Like

  2. Oh Don, thank you for linking to my post with such a thoughtful and profound post. I like the way you think and it will serve you well, no matter where you live! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    Once you relocate, you can visit Winston Churchill’s thinking spot:

    http://kateshrewsday.com/2015/01/30/churchills-chair/

    Like

  4. Dan Antion says:

    Good luck finding those new spaces. I prefer spaces by a river.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Val Boyko says:

    What a lovely reflection Don. It brings to mind the thinking spots in my life … and the ones yet to unfold. Thankfully we will find them wherever we go 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. calvin says:

    Am sure there is a moss covered stone on which to sit upon, with your name on it. Say hello to rain gear, good-bye to sun screen. I have wrote of thinking places, though I really don’t have one place, mine tend to be passing hot spots.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      Hi Calvin. Interesting you say good-bye to sun screen. We have just been through the most intense heat and the discomfort has been quite something. Passing hot spots – now that’s another marvellous description. You seem to be full of them Calvin. I’m sure I’ll find that stone.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. davecenker says:

    I tend to think that the discovery of new thinking spots keeps our mind awake and ousr perspective fresh. May plenty of thinking spots rise to greet you on the path ahead, Don. Thanks for sharing and best wishes for an inspired day 😉

    Like

  8. Thinking spots are very important. Letting go and embarking on such a big move is probably a great time to contemplate a “thinking spot” and remember the many memories you have had here. I hope the move goes well for you both Don. 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Karen. It is the memories of those places that make them so special, like signposts along the way. We’ll probably be leaving in early in June.

      Like

  9. Hariod Brawn says:

    New thinking spots, new thoughts and inspirations?

    Like

  10. Thank you for that link. I like the name,’thinking spots’ so direct and touching all of us I think. My favourites are in the garden or on the cliffs with the sound of the waves far below. There are a couple of benches along our favourite coastal walk ( which I shall now be able to do again!) where I like to stop to contemplate.
    I’m sure you’ll find good thinking spots wherever you settle. London, as you know, has so many little ( and big) parks and squares. Do you know yet which part of the UK you are aiming for? 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Pleasure Sally. I can imagine the spots in Cornwall. Judging from all that I’ve seen on your blog there must be some wonderful places.

      We don’t know which part yet. We are going to be staying with our one son for about eight months and during that time we’ll be able to go to places that we could possibly settle in. It will be in the South and it would be nice to be close to the sea. But that puts us a little far from London. It’s going to be good looking though. Thank you for your interest.

      Like

      • It is exciting! Even if you are by the sea – and I know you love the sea – it’s not too far to get to London. It takes us about 5 hours door to door if we get the faster train. Not much good in a hurry but not bad other wise. Happy hunting to you both 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Don says:

        Thanks Sally. We may even end up looking in Cornwall. We’ve been there and loved what we saw.

        Like

  11. Take heart, Don. No matter where you go, you’ll find “thinking spots.” Open hands and mind searching for a place to stop and think have an uncanny way of being led to special “spots.”

    Like

  12. Mary says:

    I hear the melancholy in your words Don as you prepare for your journey. Leaving is usually sad, memories hold us, true friendships stay and then several hours into the move, a switch turns on and we see in our minds’ eye the new, the anticipated the start – different but part of the patches of life. I’m excited for you and do feel the angst of leaving. Best to you and what a lovely, beautiful post.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Mary for your listening heart. You’re quite right, the anticipated start always materializes at the appropriate moment. That has also been my experience.

      Like

  13. What you said about new thinking spots is absolutely true, Don. And the good news is you will always “find” one because the thinking is inside you, regardless of the spot. I hope this move will move you.

    Like

  14. Pingback: Come on another walk with me? | talktodiana

Leave a Reply

