From My Sketchbook – 36

2015.1

I worked here with ink and pencil.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Contemplation, Nature, Sketchbook and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 36

  1. Dear Don, Beautiful art. Thank you, Ellen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Val Boyko says:

    Very atmospheric Don!

    Like

  3. When I saw this picture Don, I thought of an empty nest! Maybe this work today is a reflection of you moving on? I love the shading of the sky.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is very lovely. I find winter trees very beautiful when their structure can be seen so clearly and your drawing captures that brilliantly. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    I think it is very nice but ominous. I like it.

    Like

  6. Wonderful, Don – I just love this! You always do something I wish I’d done!! 🙂

    Like

  7. It feels almost translucent.

    Like

  8. It’s beautiful Don! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  9. I always love when you share from your sketchbook, Don, and trees are my favorite. I see this one as resting after a harsh winter, preparing to surprise me with tiny buds, then leaves, and soft shade.

    Like

  10. nrhatch says:

    I like the light shining in the dark.

    Like

  11. davecenker says:

    Beautiful work Don – the branches reaching out in every direction sends me a message to remain open to all possibilities. Thanks, as always, for sharing your gift!

    Like

  12. Pingback: weathered trees | Poems From Oostburg, Wisconsin

  13. Mary says:

    So beautiful Don – the backlighting of the night sky illuminating the tree is a stunning piece of work.

    Like

  14. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    bare trees of Winter seem to bare their souls,
    if nothing else we learn from trees and seasons how to live not just exist baring our souls…
    I really like this sketch…
    Thank you for sharing you and your thoughts
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Maryrose. Trees baring their souls. Wonderful image. Thank you for your comment.

      Liked by 2 people

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        You’re welcome…
        I really enjoyed the whispers from your art…
        and, I like it, if it were mine I would do a pewter/dark grey mat with olde barn wood for the frame…
        🙂 just a thought, Thank you again for sharing it
        )0(

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

