Sky Political Debate

I watched the Sky Political Debate as the various parties shared what they stood for in the coming British elections. Leaders of seven of the parties took part in this debate. Many felt it was too much and that the debate would be watered down, but for me it was a triumphant show of multi-party democracy.

What struck me was how the decision to have most of the parties represented led to a more wholistic picture of the British political landscape – a classic example of more perceptions providing a more truthful picture of what is going on and what needs to be done.

The highlight was the number of women leaders who took part and their amazing impact on the debate. One was left with the thought – please, more women in politics.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sky Political Debate

  1. Val Boyko says:

    Its good to hear Don! Maybe Margaret Thatcher gave us more of a legacy that we had thought 😉

    Like

  2. If only the US would (the money grubbing news media)
    listen to more than just two parties…
    ME

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      This listening to numerous parties was precisely what made it such a good experience. I wish too that our country could express something of it. Thank you for your comment.

      Like

  3. Good to hear that, Don. So often we don’t really know what parties stand for because they promise one thing and deliver another when they get into power.
    Good to see more women involved too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. davecenker says:

    I have never been much of a political type person, but being from the United States, these thoughts really resonated with me Don. When it comes time for elections, I am not for one party or another, I am for the individual who I feel will help address the most salient and impacting issues facing society. The way I see it, the more options, the more perspectives, the better it will be 😉

    Like

  5. Hariod Brawn says:

    I thought the three women completely stole the show Don, and I was most impressed with the Welsh leader of Plaid Cymru, Leanne Wood, who seemed authentic, straightforward and naturally impressive. I couldn’t help laughing at Ed Milliband, who seemed quite the opposite, and his faux earnestness was indeed risible and shallow – what a shame Labour didn’t elect Alan Johnson as leader. Cameron and Farage I have no time for whatsoever. It was good to see The Green Party representing a truly Leftist perspective, and again, a woman speaking with authority and assuredness in this male-dominated arena.

    P.S. I shall be away on travels for the next 3 weeks Don; see you upon my return dear friend.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Yes Hariod, I also felt the same about Leanne Wood. As you say so authentic. That’s precisely what struck me about the women. They were authentic and it was so refreshing to see. I agree with you on Ed Milliband.

      Enjoy your travels and have a wonderful time.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Politics in Canada is making me crazy of late. I will spare you the details, fearing my comment will turn into a post. ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. nrhatch says:

    Nothing like a GOOD debate!

    Like

  8. RMW says:

    I like the idea of a lot of parties being represented with the opportunity to hear them all… even if there’s no chance of them being elected, it’s important for everybody’s voice to be heard.

    Like

  9. British and American political debates are not all that different, Don! Unfortunately, the one main woman in the political news right now is famous (infamous) for breaking rules and hiding truth beneath self-serving needs. But overall, my conclusion at the local and state level is like yours: I wish there were more women in politics.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. It is sad, Don. But it probably won’t keep her from being elected, and that’s REALLY sad.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

