Extracts From My Journal – 3

I woke up this morning to the sound of sweeping, rhythmic and soft on the ears. There’s something soothing and almost archetypal about the sound. Strange how most gardeners here in our country, when unsure of what to do, inevitably reach for a broom and start sweeping. Perhaps the act of sweeping is an outer expression of that deep need in the human spirit to clear away and restore. Whatever it is I enjoy waking up to its gentle, yielding and almost whispering tone.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Contemplation, My Journal, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Extracts From My Journal – 3

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    Ah, now the sound of the Besom Broom at work on an English Cricket pitch is one that is highly evocative for me Don, and as a child I spent many a summer’s day watching my father play the game, and being captivated by both the sound of the brush being worked upon the crease during the tea interval, as well as by the dust clouds thereby created with the Besom. You will find much of the same soon in Surrey no doubt.

    Like

    • Don says:

      That’s interesting Hariod. I’m a cricket lover and I too have been captivated by the sweeping of the crease and a little way up the pitch. In fact I’ve done it. I find your use of the word “Besom” rather intriguing. One of the languages we speak here in South Africa is Afrikaans and in Afrikaans a broom is referred to as a “besem.” I need to look this up. Your last sentence is so enticing. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful moment of mindfulness. I love how you take in the restive quality of the sound and the feeling of it’s meaning to you. better than coffee!

    Like

  3. Don, I love this great example of the extraordinary in the ordinary! โค
    Diana xo

    Like

  4. Val Boyko says:

    A lovely mindful moment Don. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. Your details evoked many visuals for me, Don.
    My grandmother’s cousin had a two-room cottage at the edge of the farm. The cottage had no electricity, and only a hand pump for water. I thought it was the most amazing thing, to take a broom and sweep out the dirt floor. During “deep cleanings” several times a year, you began at the top of the walls where they met the ceiling and swept all the way down to the floor.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      I find it quite amazing Marylin how we remember these kinds of things when it comes to the act of sweeping. Like you with that two-room cottage, I remember how when I was serving in the army there were certain areas we needed to sweep clean for inspections. Strange, but I enjoyed it. Those memories of sweeping are still with me. We also had a method similar to what you describe in your last sentence.

      Like

  6. A beautiful example of presence. To become aware and find comfort in the simple practices and sounds of life. I agree with you Don, that the need for sweeping or cleaning can be an expression to clean away and restore, perhaps because they cannot do this within.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. seaangel4444 says:

    I always, ALWAYS love how you describe your environment, Don. It is through our expressions of such things we feel the joy and gratitude of everything! Cher xo

    Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    Good share, Don. Waking to swishing sweeps of a broom is far more relaxing than waking up to a snow plow or garbage truck.

    Like

  9. I love sweeping the paths, clearing away the dirt and leaves. Yes, it is a metaphor for our lives at times. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Trouble is that nowadays one doesn’t hear the broom outside – there are so many noisy leaf-blowers about that they are the very opposite of peace!

    Like

  10. calvin says:

    Sweeping brooms, your sound of snow falling.

    Like

  11. I like the sound of sweeping brooms too. And the act of sweeping our front porch is so peaceful for me. It is about clearing away, starting out fresh.

    Like

  12. davecenker says:

    I love the metaphor Don – restoration and starting anew. Sometimes, for me at least, it’s the simple act of doing something physically that puts the conscious mind to work while the subconscious can “play” and work its magic to mine nuggets of wisdom buried deep within. Thanks for sharing such a thought-provoking passage ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  13. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    each season magick is whispered, as the Besom sweeps away what is no longer needed
    clearing any negative energy that got stored, I sweep to clear thoughts as the dust of yesterday
    gets carried on the wind ๐Ÿ™‚ if one listens they can what is meant to Be
    I’m a gardener as well, the Besom made with Rosemary, Lavender, and Willow holds my thoughts that need to be remembered at a later time when I need to step aside and let them go for awhile…
    Thank you for sharing a part of you, I wish you well on your move into the unknown of new discoveries
    Take Care…You Matter
    )0(
    BlessedBe
    maryrose

    Like

  14. Mary says:

    Something very quieting and assuring, like one humming in the background. Only this time it the soft, single motion of noise that doesn’t grate but assure – what digging in the dirt and gardening does for me, mindless and yet very fruitful.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Wonderful Mary – “mindless” but deeply fruitful. I like that. My Mom often hummed in the background. Was such a reassuring sound to us.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary says:

        Thanks Don. We grew up around apple and cherry orchards and early summer mornings we would hear the workers out in the fields signing and humming. Wow this took me back some 50 years.

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Darrel H says:

    These simple journal entries are really inspiring and help me and teach me to listen more to the usual ordinary things in my life…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

