The Small Things I’ll Remember

Strange how in our getting ready to move it’s the small things that seem to make an impression. Just looking at this tap in our garden the other day, I couldn’t help but think of the many times I’ve turned it on and off and how the water from it has fed our garden with life and colour. I know the day is coming when I will turn it on and off for the last time and never do that again, nor ever see it again, accept in memory. I took a photo of it and it’s now part of the collection of photographic memories I’m building up before we leave for the UK.

IMG_2849.2

 

 

 

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Contemplation, Life, Photography, Poetic Imagination and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to The Small Things I’ll Remember

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    Poignant and lovely Don, and it seems to me that it is the small things that chime most clearly and evocatively in memory. For that reason, I never was inclined to make a so-called ‘bucket list’, because as I look back, it is really the seemingly insignificant details, rather than events or accomplishments, that I recall with the greatest fondness and/or vividness of feeling. Your tap looks like a loyal, resolute and noble servant.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      I must agree with you Hariod. I too have not been one for “bucket lists.” I tend to find the significance I seek in the small things.They simply reveal themselves. I love the way you describe the tap in your last sentence. That is how I’ve experienced it.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Dan Antion says:

    That is interesting. As I think back to the various places I’ve lived, I’m often amazed at the things I remember.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. josna says:

    A whole new stage of life about to begin. Glad your’e taking the time to feel what you’re feeling and see anew everyday things that hold such meaning. You will carry them with you, I know: they are part of who you are. I look forward to the insightful way you will see Everyday life in Britain in your unique and multilayered perspective.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      Thank you Josna. It is a whole new stage of life and I do so look forward to living in that beautiful country. Sometimes I think we’re a little mad stepping out like this, but the being with our family and the adventure pulls.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. nrhatch says:

    I like the looks of that stalwart spout!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is the small things in life that we hold fond memories, like a kind gesture, a comment, compassion or a tap!
    “It didn’t seem possible to gain so much happiness from so little.” Peter Lerangis,

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is the small things in life that mean so much to me too Don. ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a gift to be so present to all that is unfolding. It’s a courageous thing to give up the familiar. To believe you can be something different. Beautiful piece.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. calvin says:

    Seems you’ve tapped into your emotional quotient.

    Like

  9. davecenker says:

    As they saying goes, Don, most often we realize that the small things are really the big things – not because of their material worth, but rather for the deep and expansive memories they hold in their presence. I am sure you will reminisce on those memories through that photograph for many years to come 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I so agree, it is the small things in life. Most days the little things make me teary in a good way and make my heart smile. I like the picture of the tap… it makes me think I need to get back to clicking pictures of the things that make me happy.
    I am thinking your pictures will be most interesting when you are in the UK… looking forward to it. My niece lives in Bingley, in West Yorkshire.

    Like

  11. I love this, Don. It really struck a chord with me. When I moved my parents out of their house to go into an assisted living, I actually removed a water tap in my mother’s garden. The handle was a little metal frog, and I had it replaced with a standard tap. Even with my mother’s advanced dementia now, when she holds the little metal frog she smiles and nods when I tell her about her garden.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Mary says:

    I understand Don and love your post. On the day we left Maine for Texas two things happened 1) I found a four-leaf clover, that I’ve saved and 2) during the wee early hours 9 (yes nine) deer strode through the backyard. These two things was our sendoff and 15 years later can say the memories are of a precious chapter. You too will look back one day and know you didn’t close a chapter but continued through the treasures of memories. The best to you and Mrs. ~

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Two wonderful events Mary. I can just imagine how you have captured them and given them a permanent home in your heart. Thank you for sharing that experience of yours. It certainly is an inspiration to me..

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary says:

        And one more ~ the old former owner of the Maine property, sweet gentleman, left a wind chime whose sound reminds me of ships at sea. We have it hanging on our porch and every time it chimes I’m reminded of the special place in Maine. You too will experience these little moments and they’ll be bitter sweet, but loving.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Don says:

        I’m sure I will, Mary. Won’t be easy.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. ladyfi says:

    Such a poignant shot.

    Like

  14. Darrel H says:

    Don, I will miss you. But at least these blogs will keep coming 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Val Boyko says:

    This will be a truly heartfelt collection 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Don–Tintern Abbey comes to mind. Wordsworth’s anticipation of the sweetness of future memories of past and present details.

    Like

  17. You are doing the most valuable part of preserving your place! Take picture upon picture – you’ll be so glad you did!!

    Like

  18. Anjali says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog Don and helping me discover your beautiful pictures and writing! And oh hello! from London – welcome to the UK! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

