Finally Here!

Hello all.

We are finally settled in the UK. Our journey went extremely well with a stop over in Dubai. We passed through customs without any hitch and our little dog, Stryder, also made the journey without any mishap. So Jane, me and Stryder are now breathing UK air, finally close to our children after fifteen years of back and forth travelling – such a good feeling.

We’re living in Dulwich about twenty minutes out of the centre of London. We’veย started completely from scratch – scary but so challenging and exciting. A new life is already unfolding and it’s hard to believe this has all happened within six months of our making the decision.

So, I’m back on line, happy,content, feeling fully alive, and O’ by the way, with the fastest internet connection I’ve ever used. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Finally Here!

  1. Congratulations Don, that seemed very quick! Glad you have settled in and it was an easy transition but more importantly, have a fast internet ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to your new posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kathy says:

    Good news indeed! Looking forward to being inspired through your new perspective. My experience has been that people from SA who settle overseas see things here in a whole new light. I have been so encouraged by what they see that I don’t, being too close to things, I guess. Every good wish to you and Jane. Trust that Stryder will make new friends too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Thanks Kathy. Yes, there’s no doubt that one begins to see things from a different point of view. I’ve experienced that in our past travels, but I suppose living here will accentuate those perspectives.

      Like

  3. June Neuhofff says:

    Hi Don,
    So glad you have finally made it to the U.K. . Hope you will be happy.I admire you for making the BIG move. I have the adventurous blood but Gerry doesn’t like changes, so for him it would have been a huge step. Funny, I always thought you were like Gerry. If I remember correctly you don’t like the cold either. Am I right? No doubt, I will be hearing about your “new home” in the future. So will be looking forwards to hearing your stories. Go well Don. Blessings, June.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you June. It’s so good hearing from you. I must say that I have always enjoyed change, not only the inward kind but also the outward changes I’ve made throughout my working life. We’ve always essentially been on the move because of the work I’ve done. I’ve enjoyed that. It has made life extremely interesting and adventurous for us both. I saw your book in a bookstore recently. i really admire you. I remember you always saying that you were going to write a book one day. Congratulations on a work well done.

      Like

  4. Sounds like a great start, Don. So good to be closer to your children. My sons & families are far away & I wish I could be closer to them. I would probably move if it weren’t that hubby’s kids live in the opposite direction to mine. So, we have to be somewhere in the middle.
    Hope that excitement in your new place stays. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Linda. Just the other night we popped over for a meal that my daughter-in-law prepared for us (she is an outstanding cook) and we were just saying how wonderful it was simply to pop over like that instead of having to get on a plane and travel 6000 miles. I can understand why you would move if you were able.

      I’m sure there are a lot of ups and downs ahead for us, Linda, but we are extremely glad to be here. We love England, but I know the Winters are going to be tough.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    Congratulations Don. I’m glad to hear that everything went well and I look forward to reports and pictures flowing over that fast connection.

    Like

  6. josna says:

    So glad to hear that all went well and you’re settling in, Don. And you were able to bring your dog as well! Wishing you all the very best in this new stage of your lives, and looking forward to sharing a little of it through your keen observations of human nature, society–and a whole new landscape.
    Cheers!
    Josna

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Thank you Josna. We were worried about our little dog travelling, but there was no way in which we were going to leave him behind. He’s 11 years old now and travelled so well. Was very tired but has recovered and is quite bouncy.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. This is such good news, Don. I’m glad everything went so well!

    Like

  8. ptero9 says:

    Congratulations Don and best wishes with your new home!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Bill says:

    Congrats Don and family. Wishing you all the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. nrhatch says:

    Welcome back ~ glad this new chapter is off to a smooth start! Enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Welcome to the UK! You have arrived in a lovely sunny spell and I am so pleased to hear that the flight etc went well and that you are all settling in.
    I envy you being so close to your children now after 15 years of those long journeys. We have three here and one in Spain and we miss them all, seeing them only occasionally.
    Have a wonderful time exploring and settling in. You never know, we might even meet up on one of our family visits to London.
    All the very best to you, Jane and Stryder in this new venture. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for your warm welcome Sally. People have been marvellous and its wonderful to be here. I never realized you had a child in Spain. A meeting like that would be so good. Again, thank you for your encouragement Sally.

      Like

  12. tomsimard says:

    Glad to hear you’ve made it and are settled.

    A wonderful new life to you and yours.

    Like

  13. Hariod Brawn says:

    Just in time for The Ashes series Don.

    Like

  14. Rhonda says:

    Wonderful news! Congratulations Don and all the very best in your newest adventure. Can’t wait to see how you are inspired. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  15. Val Boyko says:

    So happy you all arrived in one piece!
    Happy exploring, popping in, settling down and going really fast on the internet ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  16. Congratulations, Don! You sound happy! Glad you are all getting home to feel like home. A fast internet is a wonderful thing… ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  17. Susan Feniak says:

    Happy to hear all went well and all is well!! Isn’t fast internet wonderful?? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  18. Don, this is indeed GREAT NEWS for you and your wife and Stryder, which by the way I think is one of the coolest dog names ever!! We’re all so fortunate to have you back…:)

    Like

  19. cindy knoke says:

    Welcome to your new home!

    Like

  20. Welcome back to Bloggerville, Don. Warm wishes in your new home.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  21. Darrel H says:

    Enjoy. ๐Ÿ™‚ best decision for you. And I know you guys like walks on the beach. Bournemouth and Brighton Beach are pretty cool to walk on ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  22. Mary says:

    Great to see you Don, congratulations on finally reaching your destination. I’m so happy for the both of you – welcome back to blogging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

