Walking

Walking is one of the ways I’ve coped in life. For me sadness, anxiety and stress inevitably dissolve in the face of this natural and glorious flow of movement. Now, even more so, it has become part of my life. You walk a lot here. You walk to the bus stop, to the tube station, to the shop, to the pub and even to the spot where you’ve parked your car, if you have one.

I’m discovering that walking here is not just something you do at a specific time of the day as part of an exercise regimen, but something which is an essential part of life. I like that. Why? Because, if walking for me has to do with coping, then I certainly look forward to a surge of energy in that department of my life. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Health, inspiration, Life, Our Bodies, physical exercise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Walking

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I love walking, but I don’t see it as exercise. Looking forward to reading about the discoveries you’re going to make on those walks.

    Like

  2. Hariod Brawn says:

    That is an interesting observation Don; it would never have occurred to me that you might experience such a fundamental shift in emphasis as a result of your move here.

    Like

    • Don says:

      You know Hariod you would think that the wonders of public transport would somehow lesson walking but I have found that it provides the best of both worlds. I walk now more than than I’ve ever walked before and that includes my daily walk, but I’m also able not to walk and enjoy the luxury of a public transport system that is unheard of where I come from. Two wonderful worlds.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. nrhatch says:

    Glad you’re enjoying the journey!

    Like

  4. ptero9 says:

    I love to walk Don, a habit started in childhood with my sister. So glad you are settling in at your new home.

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    Love to walk – your energy is taking off positively these days Don. Walking is a connection in so many ways – with ourselves, others and nature. Best wishes in your new home and environment, hope the stress is melting off your shoulders.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Walking is therapeutic for me too and I love it! โค
    Diana xo

    Like

  7. seaangel4444 says:

    I love to walk, Don. It serves many purposes for me. I get to observe my surroundings, create solutions to problems, all the while physically getting exercise. New discoveries just around the corner! I hope you continue to walk with bliss, Don! Cher xo

    Like

  8. Val Boyko says:

    From a coping strategy to exploration in a new land of choices and continued well being!
    I’m so happy for you Don ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  9. I’m intrigued that you didn’t walk, except at a specific time as exercise, in SA. WHY WAS THAT. Is it just not done?
    I am glad that walking does the same for you. Mr S and I call it untangling the wires when we walk. All the best to you and yours ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      A big part of the difficulty Sally was the crime rate in the country. You had to be extremely careful where you walked and when you walked, especially on the beaches. You have no idea how free and safe one feels here.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. So sorry about the capital letters! Forgot to turn off and sent without checking. Feel free to edit this and that comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  11. When we visited London in 2011, we walked from morning to night. I found I had so much energy while I was there. Everyone is walking and you are right Don, it is very therapeutic. I love the way you describe how your stress ‘dissolves in the flow of movement’. Happy walking. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Walking is a coping strategy for me as well, Don. It is also an excuse to walk in rain or snow, an opportunity to escape demands and distractions, and to pray.

    Like

  13. I just wish we had public transport to walk to! Walking becomes an exercise when you have to drive everywhere because of distance and lack of public transport. My favourite walks are in nature, away from the madding crowds.

    Like

  14. Kathy says:

    Ah…you are fortunate indeed. Gone are the days of walks on the beach without concerns for safety, or walks anywhere in quiet lonely places with just nature to invite meditation. I love walking. I live in a security village, where I feel safe, and can walk freely but it’s not the same, even though the gardens are beautiful and there is a view of the sea and the hills of sugar cane. I must get in my car, drive to the Berg, book in at a resort and enjoy the walks recommended. Can’t do that much now so I’m painting from photos of my special places and enjoying the experience of being alone, with nature in a whole new way.

    Like

  15. Darrel H says:

    I totally agree. I loved the walking of the UK. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ladyfi says:

    I love walking – just as well with two dogs! Also, it should be an essential part of life for people so that we stop relying so much on cars.

    Like

  17. Yes, but can you walk to the All England Club for the Championships at Wimbledon??? That’s a walk I’d love to take!

    Like

  18. Don, I love your sketch. Walking is one of my favorite ways to unwind and spend time with nature. And since I usually bring my camera with me, I get to collect pictures for my blog and Facebook too. Double fun.
    Blessings ~ Wendy โ€

    Liked by 1 person

  19. amoralegria says:

    I love to walk too – it’s good for your health and a way to “clear your head”. I don’t understand people who walk around with headphones on – they seem so unaware of their surroundings. When I walk, I like to take my time, and always have a camera handy! My husband wants to bike more, but I prefer walking because at a slower pace I notice a lot of details – the contrast of flowers against a dark-colored bush, a leaf with a drop of rain in the middle, weird mushrooms that pop up in people’s yards at random. When I travel, I much prefer walking. I walked all the time in Spain and covered a lot of ground – only took the Metro once the whole time I was in Madrid! Walking allows me to explore with all my senses and to figure out where things are in relation to each other.

    Like

    • Don says:

      So enjoyed your comment. I kind of define two types of walks, a contemplative walk which for me is slow and full of awareness, also often with my camera, and then the exercise walk, fast and for exercise.I enjoy both.

      Like

Leave a Reply

