Togetherness

wine-383917_1280I was reading a great post, Unexpected Pleasures, by Dan over at “No Facilities” and it reminded me of a call I got the other day from my one son asking me to meet with them both at the Tulse hill Tavern for a drink. As I slipped my phone back in to my pocket I thought, hell, that’s nice and in that moment realized just how much I’ve missed out on living so far away from them. Now, here I was, and we could simply call one another and go for a drink together.

During our chatting and laughing, in the midst of all the other chatter and laughter, I negotiated a momentous change in my life. Urged on by my one son I did something I vowed I’d never do, put ice in to my glass of Sauvignon Blanc. Can you believe that – PUT ICE INTO MY SAUVIGNON BLANC? A sheer travesty! But the moment it touched my lips I was hooked. Now, it’s bring on the ice.

However the real change was just sitting there with my two sons enjoying life and our togetherness and knowing that this was within our reach at any time.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Communication, Family, Life, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Togetherness

  1. Val Boyko says:

    Wait … let me step back … drinking sauvignon blanc in a pub? … The next thing you’ll be doing is added some soda and having wine spritzers. One on my favorites actually πŸ˜‰
    I love sensing your happiness being so close to family now!
    p.s. Try the local beer too!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. ladyfi says:

    How sweet – makes the move back home worthwhile!

    Like

  3. Hariod Brawn says:

    This is surely sacrilege Don, an appalling insult to the finest of lunchtime drinks.

    I will try it tomorrow.

    Like

  4. Kathy says:

    Makes me think of something I’ve been made aware of. It’s beautifully put in Alan Bold’s poem, Six Dimensions (quoted in a comment by Sr Christopher Godden in Fresh From The Word): ‘……It is the way a look, a touch, can give an absolute necessity to live.’ Wonderful mystical connecting, an unexpected joy at this time of life πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks for the mention Don. Being close to family is a wonderful thing, but I think there is something uniquely special about being able to meet in a pub/bar and have a couple of beers (wine). There’s something about a bar setting that puts conversation on a different level. I’m not describing it well, but I think I’d know it if I saw it.

    I am glad to see that you are finding new and perhaps unexpected ways to enjoy your new living arrangements. Also, since I’ve seen people put ice in beer, I’m not slapping your hand on this. Thanks again.

    Like

  6. nrhatch says:

    That’s so . . . COOL!!!

    Like

  7. I can understand the wonderful feeling of being close enough to your lads to be able to simply go to a pub with them for a drink & a chat. How good that must feel now. πŸ™‚
    My 5 sons are so far away (as yours were) that it is not something I can do. Not that any of us actually go to pubs here in Australia anyway – they are not the cosy, friendly places they are in England.
    It is the ability to go to a place where you can relax together and simply chat about whatever comes to mind. I miss that. I also miss not having a daughter to chat about women-type stuff. Though I would never be without my boys!
    As for the ice in the wine – lots of people do that here, simply because white wine should be chilled, and in the Aussie heat, you can’t always keep it cold. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Yes, I can understand something of that struggle within you Linda. It’s not easy when you’re kids are so faraway. There is something very special about going to a place where you can relax and just chat about anything. Pubs were also a bit like that in South Africa. Somehow it is very different here. Not quite sure what it is, but it is something special. Talking about not having a daughter made me wonder how my wife Jane feels. That feeling must be very real for you.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Ahh, just you and the boys and ice in your wine…sounds like heaven Don. ❀
    Diana xo

    Like

  9. Welcome to the ice club Don! During summer it is a great idea I know a girl who puts ice in her champagne, and that’s where I draw the line! The French would be appalled. 🍸enjoy your new family time and these precious moments together.

    Like

  10. Rhonda says:

    Sounds perfect. That moment you realized you could do this again, anytime you wanted, is one of those blessed (and rare) times when mind, heart, and soul feel peace. I love it. And as a red wine drinker, I’ll stick to mine sans ice…but I have friends who drink the white, so I’ve taken to making wine ice cubes rather than risking watering down their juicy sav blancs and pinot grisios…as for the occasional glass in a pub with the lads who lunch…I wonder if the barkeep would consider frosting the glass? Regardless though, it’s the company that matters most…the rest is just water drops on a wine glass πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Wow! Rhonda what an amazing idea – ice cubes made with wine. Never thought of that. I must say I too enjoy a good red. That moment of realization you speak of is a wonderful moment. Sometimes the danger lurks that you begin to take it for granted. Thank you for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m about to head off to my annual family reunion. This just reminded me why I never miss it. The ice in the wine? Hell, everyone has to take risks now and then. You pushed the envelope, my friend. You are a changed man. I felt this way when I finally went chunky over creamy. I felt a traitor to my own faith, having been a stalwart creamy peanut butter aficionado for years, but what can I say? Chunky was better.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. nrhatch says:

    You daring team switchers, you! :mrgreen:

    Liked by 2 people

  13. I’m sure nrhatch there is a decent traitor in you somewhere. ☺️

    Liked by 2 people

  14. This is amazing, Don. Four years ago, a dear friend married a man she’d met only 3 months earlier on a cruise her children sent her on after their father died of a heart attack.
    We were all so worried for her–it was so sudden–and even though he seemed a wonderful man and a good match for her, we approached the wedding with dread. Before the wedding began, his daughter came to the dressing room where the three of us were dressing to be bridesmaids. And she carried a tray with crystal glasses of Sauvignon Blanc…and a bowl of ice cubes. She asked us to each put two ice cubes in our glass–one cube for the bride and one for the groom –and then drink a toast to them, and to welcoming the unexpected.
    Now I always drink Sauvignon Blanc with ice cubes, to toast the unexpected.
    p.s. They are very happy together.

    Like

  15. This is truly the best ever. Don’t waste a moment!

    Like

  16. I am so happy for you – and your boys. To be able to just pop out and meet one or more of our kids would be so brilliant. Three of our four are with us this week/ weekend to be with visiting family from USA but this evening they will be gone.
    I love Marylin’s story above, the ice cubes melting together in the wine has such loving symbolism.
    Treasure this new life which I envy!
    All the best to you and Jane πŸ™‚

    Like

  17. Darrel H says:

    That is so cool to hear Don. By the way, how do you have ads attached to your blog? Do you have to have a certain number of readership?

    Like

  18. amoralegria says:

    I’ve read a few of your posts, and love their simplicity, yet profound message. And togetherness is a great message. We should take time to enjoy the simple things in life – being with our family especially. I am blessed to have a wonderful and supportive family. My son just moved out recently but occasionally drops by to pick up something, and when he walks in, I have such pleasure in seeing him! And yet, I couldn’t wait for him to move out! Absence makes the heart grow fonder, I guess.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for your affirmation. You’re so right A supportive loving family is a wonderful gift to be cherished.The experience you describe with your son is very moving.

      Like

  19. Mary says:

    Hi Don, just noticed that some of your recent posts have not loaded into my Reader, I’ll have to unfollow and re-follow.

    What an extraordinary and precious time you are now living in – to be with your sons at a call is about as good as it gets. This is really special and I have a feeling they are enjoying your being close just as much as you are to them. It’s pretty much perfect Don!

    Like

Leave a Reply

