Strange Thoughts

20150708_125041-1

Strange how an absurd thought can enter your mind at the most inappropriate moment. I was in a shop yesterday waiting to pay for some stuff I’d bought, when suddenly the thought of us all being clowns in a circus, appeared from nowhere.

I thought about the thought and wondered about the place it came from. Judging by the thought it was obviously a place that had a mind of its own with no real rational connection to what was going on – I mean, paying for groceries and clowns, what’s that all about?ย At the same time it was all so creative. The clowns were bright in colour all doing different things and seemed so unaware of one another.

Then, a sudden jar in the form of a voice, “Excuse me, she’s waiting for you at the till,” shook me out of the world of clowns and colour and embarrassingly put me back in the world of the shop.

On my way home I thought about the clowns, their colours and actions and wanted to re-visit them. I realized then, you don’t visit those thoughts, they visit you. And when they do, are they really as absurd and disconnected as we think? Somehow I don’t think so. I’m still pondering on those clowns. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beyond the Rational, Life, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Strange Thoughts

  1. QP and Eye says:

    Had a few clown-like thoughts myself but mine tend to happen in meetings. Maybe clowns are a relent from tedium. I’ll be on the look out for a few today … Great post ๐Ÿ™‚ Linda

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Michael says:

    I agree with you… the thoughts visit us… We have to be very quiet, and position ourselves just right– by dressing up as clowns, or becoming thoughtless admirers of nature, perhaps– to catch the pure thoughts on their way into this realm, the ones that haven’t rattled around ten million skulls before bumping into ours… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Positioning ourselves in a state of stillness certainly makes sense Michael. I’ve tried to do this with the thoughts described. Maybe Linda is right in that it has to do with a relenting from the tedious.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Sounds like a waking dream, Don. And I think dreams, which also visit us, usually have something to say to us.
    It can be a little embarrassing though, when they come in the checkout lane! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I like the notion that “thoughts visit us” I think you’re right Don.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Don, it seems you were analyzing your situation, perhaps sick of waiting in line? Who knows, but you’re right, enjoy the random thoughts when they come. โค
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Rhonda says:

    Random thoughts make good muses ๐Ÿ™‚
    Love the sketch…and diggin’ the new look for the page (it is new isn’t it? that’s not just a random thought of mine is it?) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. nrhatch says:

    I’m curious. You said, “when suddenly the thought of us all being clowns in a circus, appeared from nowhere”

    ~ “us all” who?

    * the people in the shop
    * people wandering past the shop
    * mankind in general

    Maybe just a reminder that life need not be as serious as we see it at times. Or that life is like . . . a three ring circus. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  8. calvin says:

    Don, welcome to my world. Part of the fun, in life, in learning, is discovering the neurons those free spirits wandering our brains and finding out what exactly they’re all about. There are those whom might refer to the phenomenon as some kind of ‘brain fart’, but I suggest we could call it ‘cerebral painting’. And as a painter you should know, one just starts painting and the painting takes a life of its own.

    FYI, I have wet, soggy clowns lurking in my garden at times, an have photos to prove it. And by the way, I have been reading just not commenting. Glad to see the Buick got you to the UK in good working form.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Good to hear from you Calvin. I’ve never heard of the term “Cerebral Painting.” I find it rather intriguing and you’re right about painting taking on a life of its own. Would like to hear more of those soggy clowns in your garden.

      Like

  9. Kathy says:

    Interesting detachment, Don. Very interesting visitors, not to be ignored! Wonder how long they’ll stay? Funny-serious types that will take you places. Life is a performance really, and our clowns make it entertaining!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Val Boyko says:

    So interesting … And perhaps profound … Or not. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Our subconscious comes up with surprises.
    I like Nancy’s thought of lightening up tho!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Hariod Brawn says:

    An interesting subject to ponder Don, particularly as we all are subject to these seemingly bizarre interventions on occasion. Such thoughts always invite us to ask where they came from, as if we had always been in complete control of our thinking, and as if there were some homunculus inside our heads both generating and reading the same.

    One rather mundane explanation is that physical hearing occurs continuously even when we are not conscious of it. Consider us being awoken by the alarm clock in the morning for example, had our unconscious not heard the alarm, we would not have awoken. Ears function around the clock, and when we are conscious of hearing, we in fact are hearing an otherwise silent representation of what just occurred physically, a mind-created echo if you will.

    It is possible that you unconsciously and physically ‘heard’ someone else in the shop say the word ‘clowns’ and only seconds later was your consciousness prompted to attend to the subject and its unfolding in imagination. This sort of thing does happen, and explains why a lot of people insist that they are psychic.

    Conversely, I and others would maintain, thoughts can and sometimes do indeed ‘arrive’ (yet do not travel of course) synchronously with others occurring way beyond audible range. This invites us to ask whether thoughts and awareness are localised phenomena or not.

    Thank you Don, this was a lovely piece to reflect upon this morning.

    Liked by 2 people

    • ViewPacific says:

      Hariod makes an interesting point-perhaps these random thoughts aren’t entirely random? Might it be a case of exceptional hearing, and when standing in lines or otherwise relaxed, that we finally hear at some level? If so, then next time we’re in a similar place around others, might we change our world with a subtle whisper of “angels”, “friendly”, or “peaceful” or the like? It seems worth a go.
      Thanks, both of you, for the inspiration.
      Vincent

      Liked by 3 people

    • Don says:

      Thank you for your deeply thoughtful comment Hariod. So much to think about. I find your comment on thoughts being localised or not, thought-provoking, as well as what you say about people insisting that they are psychic. Very interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. ladyfi says:

    Strange how weird thoughts visit us!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Fascinating and strange what lurks in our brains just waiting for the inappropriate moment to pop up! I did enjoy reading Hariod’s comment too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  14. Oh, I love this Don. Such a combination of whimsy, reality and possibility! These free-floating ideas are often the quick mind-escapes that shake loose the cobwebs and invite creativity!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Marylin I love the way you express this. Those phrases of yours are marvellous, free floating ideas, quick mind escapes, shake loose the cobwebs, wonderful. Your comment just gives new perspective – thank you.

      Like

  15. Send in the clowns…

    Liked by 1 person

  16. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    whispers flow through the mind to get your attention…or they have been for me
    clowns in a circus…. would make me look closer at the mask or painted faces around me….
    who’s the ring master having us go in circles with no purpose other than to entertain someone or something….I always wonder what the animals think of the ones watching them as they go through hoops ….I went one time to a circus, the whispers of the animals were so sad I never went back…

    did you think more on what the whisper meant for you…?
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Maryrose. Yes I did. I think it had a lot to do with everybody in the shop going about the mundane and the necessary with their painted personas, something I was doing myself. Funny you should talk about a circus. I remember going to one and watching a clown going through his different acts. As I watched him it was as if I began to see beyond his painted face and became aware of a deep sense of detachment in him as he acted out his role. I knew he didn’t want to be there. It was a strange communication. I’ve never forgotten that clown and what I saw in him. I think that image had a lot do with the thought that came to mind described in my post. I think it was something I saw in those people and was feeling in myself. Thanks for asking.

      Like

  17. josna says:

    First, Don, I like the new photo on your masthead.
    Now, about the clowns: What comes to mind with clowns is the masks we wear: the way we put on a clown face and cover up the emotions seething inside. Clowns perform what their audiences want to see: someone to laugh at, to be the butt of their jokes. But who are the clowns in themselves? (These thoughts, by the way, come form reading Angela Carter’s novel, Nights at the Circus.)
    It’s tempting to interpret these seemingly absurd ideas visiting you in the light of your recent migration to England. But I don’t know enough about the complex thoughts that must be going through your head to presume to do so.
    Love this post, as always. The ordinaryโ€”waiting to be served in a shop, and the realityโ€”what is going through your mind.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hi Josna. I like your interpretation of the clown and you’re right, my context needs to be taken in to consideration. It must have some kind of bearing on the thoughts. Thank you for your thoughts and perceptions. Always so appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. amoralegria says:

    I’ve found that “strange thoughts” (or dreams, which are often strange) lead to the best stories. Sounds like you have the makings of a good story here!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Yes I think you’re right. I suppose the creativity and freedom of these thoughts is what does it. Thank you for your comment. Appreciate your visit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

