Sugar Free

lump-sugar-549096_1280I have given up sugar. No, I’m not asking for a pat on the back, I’ve simply done something I’ve always wanted to do. But that said, never in my wildest dreams did I ever realize just how addicted I’ve become to it and how difficult it would be to let go of. Gripped by a kind of cold turkey, and I’m not trying to be melodramatic here, I’ve staggered through the week surprised by it’s sheer power over me. You just don’t realize how a simple little thing like sugar can actually dominate and overwhelm your life. Suddenly, waking up to a day without it is not a pleasant thought. I can’t begin to imagine the impact on those whose addictions go way beyond that of sugar. However, I must say it seems to be getting a little better, but as I say this the red lights flash. I’m only too aware of the danger of that kind of thought, but I’m determined to beat this.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Sugar Free

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    I use a sucralose-based sweetener Don, trademarked as ‘Splenda’ here in England. It solves the calorie problem of sugar, yet I’m not entirely convinced it’s perfectly healthy – some say it can reduce gut bacteria.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Hariod. That’s also the problem I have with sweeteners – not sure how healthy they are. My problem is I love tea and drink quite a bit of it and it’s the sugar in the tea. Trying to get used to tea without sugar – not easy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hariod Brawn says:

        I certainly found Aspartame-based sweeteners to be ghastly tasting Don, whereas with sucralose I can’t taste the difference, and I’ve never had any gut issues with it after what is now several years of consuming it. I’ve spent many years of living without added sugar previously, though I prefer sweetened tea and know it’s not simply a case of needing to be weaned off it – it’s a preference; simple as that. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Val Boyko says:

        Don and H .. A recent report here In the US questioned the natural good ness of Splenda. A natural sweet alternative is truvia and stevia which are plant based but not fruit (calorie) based. I also read some great stuff about Xylitol as a sweetener and a preventer or inflammation in the body and gums. I add it to my neti pot salt rinse for my sinuses .., with some great results.
        Hope this isn’t TMI!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Don says:

        Thanks for that Val. Have they done any tests on Truvia and stevia?

        Like

      • Don says:

        Hariod, I also have to say that I prefer sweetened tea. I just find it extremely difficult to drink unsweetened tea. I don’t think I could ever get used to it. 🙂

        Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Good luck. If it helps, I’ll eat part of your share. Giving up sugar would mean giving up chocolate and that’s just not going to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my goodness. I don’t know if I could ever do that – I grew up in a home that a meal wasn’t finished until you ate your dessert. I’m afraid I’ve clung to that teaching!
    Oddly enough, Teresa and I decided to become pescaterians ten days ago – we’ve always felt in our hearts we were vegetarians but couldn’t quite put it into practice. This seems the best way to ease into it! The shrimp were delicious last night!!
    Best wishes for the sugarless life. You have my deepest admiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nrhatch says:

    As you struggle with your addiction . . . peering through the fog of a brain screaming out for SUGAR . . . you might enjoy this:

    https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/heaven-im-in-heaven/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kathy says:

    I did enjoy ‘heaven-im-in-heaven 🙂 Can you have honey, Don? I have black tea – rooibos, with a slice of ginger root, lemon and honey. It’s as good as a hot toddy. If you can get through the cold turkey you’ll find your need for sweet things will subside. Don’t give up, it’s worth it!

    Like

    • Don says:

      I have been using honey Kathy and its been fine in some of the other teas, but not nice in normal tea and I’m a sucker for normal tea. No, I’m not going to give up. I’ll find a way with normal tea.

      Like

  6. Good for you, Don! Like any addiction, it takes a while to kick.
    Two months ago, I learned how addicted I was to sugar: as long as I didn’t taste it, I did very well; but one taste and then it was another, and another…
    The main “sugar free” results I’ve experienced are less allergies/sinus problems, and less inflammation in knees, shoulders and hands.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Thanks Marylin. Those results you’ve experienced in not taking sugar are very interesting. I’m keen to feel how I will feel in a couple of weeks.

      Like

    • Scientific research suggests that the “allergy” symptoms attributed to sugar would be the colours, flavours, preservatives that are excluded when one excludes sugar, rather than the sugar itself. That includes the biogenic amines in chocolate.

      Like

  7. Alcohol is fermented sugar, the addictive personality that
    is alcoholic craves sugar when they stop drinking alcohol.
    If you want to stay away from processed sugar you should
    also make it a point not to drink wine or any other alcoholic beverage.
    Eat the fruit …
    Love, hugs and prayers do help … ME

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well done Done. It is not easy to take on a sugar free diet. I have been mainly sugar free for about two years and I definitely have more energy and my health has really improved, I hardly ever get sick. I do have honey in my tea and I know that is still sugar but I like to think, I am supporting the beautiful ‘bee.’ 🙂 I wish you well on this.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Karen. I don’t think that my diet will be completely free of sugar. Completely sugar free maybe a bit unrealistic but I’m trying. It’s interesting how everyone describes the health benefits obtained through letting go of sugar. I look forward to that.

      Like

  9. Don, ten years ago, I stopped using sugar in my coffee and quit eating bread for a year. At first, I had a headache everyday. But that soon disappeared. At the end of the year I’d lost 40 pounds. I eat bread again and I do use sugar when I bake, which isn’t often. I rather eat home-baked cookies than store-bought because I know what’s in them. I rather eat sugar (I use brown sugar) than use a fake food substitute. And I don’t worry about eating foods that naturally have sugar in them like fruit. Oddly enough, when I started eating bread again, I got headaches for a few weeks. Good luck with your goal Don! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Val Boyko says:

    …. You know its a conspiracy by the sugar industry don’t you …. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I admire your strength, Don. I gave up sugar in tea/coffee some years ago and it was hard at first but now both taste horrid with but to give up sugar completely takes some determination. The positive stories above though are most heartening and I wish you well. Are you really giving it up in everything? I am on a wine free month but am not sure I could do it forever!
    All the best 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Sally. No not in everything. I don’t think I could handle that. I’m quite happy with natural sugar in fruit and stuff. Wine Free month! Now that I admire. I couldn’t do that. 🙂 Is there a reason behind that Sally? Hope you don’t mind me asking.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have another hip op coming up and could do with losing a lb or two and I find it easier to save a few calories from wine than I do from food! I also have some time afterwards when I am not allowed to drink, if I am on pain killers and it feels better when it is my choice rather than being told what to do! The lovely Mr S is still enjoying his South African Chardonnay! Happy days. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Don says:

        I wish you well Sally with that op. Didn’t realize you were going to have a second one. Having been through one, at least you know what to expect. Can understand you letting go of the wine for now.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. davecenker says:

    Personally, I think that there are a lot of “sugars” in my life – things that I take for granted as having, doing, and consuming. And perhaps, not all those things are necessarily have a positive effect on my life. Sometimes it’s the withdrawal from those things that we feel we absolutely need that ultimately shows us how little is actually required to have a “sweet” life 😉 Best wishes, Don, and thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Good luck with your sugar-free life. I am sure that you will be better for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. thefeatheredsleep says:

    Congrats!

    Like

  15. Mary says:

    Wow Don, I had no clue how addictive sugar is and how many foods contain some form of it. Chocolate is my down fall and in my younger years I never craved it. Now I’ll eat a piece of chocolate and not even realize that I’m going for it, just to have it. Hm guess that’s addictive, wouldn’t you say?

    Like

  16. Don says:

    I not sure if others feel the same way about its addictiveness, Mary, but that has certainly been my experience. Not easy. Enjoy your chocolate. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

