Vegetables

vegetables-771445_1280My son taught me his way of doing vegetables. I suspect he was getting a little tired of my way which is to bang them in to the Microwave with a bit of oil. “Dad, you’re killing the stuff. They look floppy and dead.” he said. Not quite the diplomat, my son.

So I did it his way. Heated up the big pan, poured in a touch of olive oil, waited about twenty seconds, not sure why, threw in the vegetables, broccoli, orange peppers, asparagus and carrots, shook them around, added just a small touch, a smaaaaaall touch of butter and waited for the colour to deepen and the faint appearance of some browning on the stalks and skin, and there it was, beautiful to the eye.

It was delicious, and as I crunched away and sipped the wine (with ice in it ) I couldn’t help but think that the secret behind all our living is, simplicity and never, neverΒ overcook anything.

Image – courtesy Pixabay

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Food, Life, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Vegetables

  1. April says:

    Looks quite yummy.

    Like

  2. It took me a while to learn the delights of stir-fried vegies, but now I am hooked. Not too much oil! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I’m with your son on this one. Besides, if I tossed a fresh vegetable into a microwave, my wife would call my daughter and they would pair up to evict me from house and home. We are enjoying fresh veggies every which way Don, but not microwaved. Enjoy the wine and the crunch.

    Like

  4. Hariod Brawn says:

    I was a metaphorical over-cooker in my early years, yet with the passage of time will gave way to the Tao. Seems like your son is streets ahead of where I was in early adult life Don, or is his sagacity largely confined to the kitchen? πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      He’s pretty sharp Hariod. Has a very interesting take on life. A good conversationalist – frivolity when needed, but also a lovely depth when needed. My other son is the same, but more extroverted.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. nrhatch says:

    “And the children shall lead the way . . . ”

    Another way you might enjoy veggies is roasted ~ potatoes, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus. Just toss with a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper and roast in the oven to desired done-ness.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Don says:

      Yes Jane roasts them, Nancy and they really taste good. Her job takes her away a lot and during these times I take short-cuts when it comes to preparing food.Not good I know, but I’m learning.

      Like

  6. Darrel H says:

    I like this. Reminds me also of that “the art of making tea” blog you once wrote.

    why rush life all the time?

    Now, Don, why not pour yourself some wine as you wait for those veggies to cook?
    Or get yourself a pint πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      I often have wine as I’m preparing food, Darrel. I was taught to do that by Keith Floyd. Remember him, the guy who used to cook on TV. He always spoke about taking a “slurpie” as he cooked. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Val Boyko says:

    Keith Floyd and the Galloping Gourmet…. those were the days Don. 🍷
    Glad you enjoyed the crunch!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. You are certainly learning a lot about food and drinks since you arrived in London Don! It’s wonderful you have this time with your son. Lots of catching up for you. Will you be sharing some of your beautiful drawings again soon? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      As I was saying to Marylin, Karen, the choice here is just marvellous. I think the diversity has got something to do with my fascination and interest. I haven’t had much time to sketch, but I’m missing it and hope to get back to it soon. Thank you for asking. I know that I have to also take hold of my camera and do some photography. So much here that awakens creativity. :-).

      Like

  9. Your son did you a big favor, Don. You’ll love eating veggies this way.
    If you add a few sliced leeks to the mix and then sprinkle some sesame seeds on the top just before eating, you’ll have a feast!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Now that sounds good Marylin. What I’ve so enjoyed here is the myriad of vegetables that are available. To me it’s a kind of feast. May sound a bit crazy to you, but you just never got this choice in South Africa. I’m thoroughly enjoying it.

      Like

  10. Or overdo anything, or overthink anything, Don – love this post, it has so many applications! ❀
    Diana xo

    Like

  11. renxkyoko says:

    II cook the veggies the Chinese way,,, olive oil, high heat, drop the veggies, saute for a minute or so, and that’s it. Oh, don’t forget a bit of salt, if you want ( I add soy sauce ).

    Like

  12. Crunchy and colourful cooked like that – delicious. We have lots to learn from our young’uns if we let ourselves!
    It constantly surprises me how different our four kids are when they share the same genes. It delights me too- clones would be no fun! It is also good to see their closeness. All the best to you and yours πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Thanks Sally. Yes, they are so different and like you I enjoy that immensely. They do have so much to teach us. They just see things differently and we need those perceptions. But then I suppose we also have something to teach them.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. davecenker says:

    So true, on so many different levels – and you can probably guess I speak of more than just cooking vegetables. With that being said, I love the process you describe because I can hear the sizzle, feel the heat, smell the flavors melding together into one cohesive mΓ©lange of yumminess πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing, cooking can enlighten us on so many different things in life!

    Like

  14. ladyfi says:

    Life sounds good over there!

    Like

  15. Mary says:

    The dish does look good Don – no doubt you are in a good place now enjoying the simple things to life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

