A Town I Want To Visit

20150731O’ hell, I’ve just found out that the little town of Maycomb in which Harper Lee’s novel “Go Set A Watchman” is set, is fictitious. I was told politely that I could look for it on the map until the proverbial cows came home and not find it. It just doesn’t exist. Dammit! So beautifully described by her and simply not real. I’m afraid that’s the literal side of me talking which I know causes me a lot of problems at times. But, never fear, redemption has come in the form of Monroeville, which does exist, and can be found on a map. Its the little town in Alabama in which Harper Lee was born and raised and used by her to model her Maycomb on. I feel much better.

Here’s a small part of the description of Maycomb which I find so captivating and down to earth.

“What saved it from becoming another grubby little Alabama community was that Maycomb’s proportion of professional people ran high: one went to Maycomb to have his teeth pulled, his wagon fixed, his heart listened to, his money deposited, his mules vetted, his soul saved, his mortgage extended.”

Thoroughly enjoying the book.

Image – from my mobile.

 

 

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Books, inspiration, Life, Literature, Novels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Town I Want To Visit

  1. Darrel H says:

    is it a new or old book?

    Like

    • Don says:

      Just been published, but there’s a wonderful story behind this book, Darrel. Look it up on the net and read how it came in to being. I won’t spoil it for you. Check it out.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nrhatch says:

    To Kill A Mockingbird made me fall in love with Harper Lee’s characters. Glad you’re enjoying this new release.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hariod Brawn says:

    I gather it’s currently outselling the likes of Harry Potter and the Fifty Shades follow on – which is a sign of hope for humankind!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can totally relate to that type of disappointment Don! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  5. Don says:

    Thanks Diana. Nice to know that. 🙂

    Like

  6. There is certainly lots of excitement around the release of this next book. Another one to add to my list! 🙂

    Like

  7. Don, you will be happy to know that you love Harper Lee as much as I do. To Kill a Mockingbird ranks as one of my all-time favorite books, and Teresa and I have actually been to Monroeville, Alabama on one of our many trips between Texas and South Carolina.
    The court house, which is the center of the little town, looks exactly as she describes in the book and exactly as it appeared in the movie.
    Interestingly, Ms. Lee has cautioned the local shopkeepers to keep mum about her home and family so no one would do more than smile and nod when we asked about her.
    There are, however, little statues of Truman Capote (Dill in the book) who was not averse to high drama and high profiles.
    Monroeville is a wonderful typical Southern town – I wish you could visit!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Sheila for your wonderful comment. I found your little snippets so interesting, especially about the local shopkeepers and the courthouse. I would love to visit the place. Perhaps one day.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. josna says:

    I’ll be curious to read your impressions after you’ve finished it, Don.

    Like

  9. josna says:

    P.S. Not that I don’t appreciate your impressions along the way–I do; just looking forward to hearing more! Many writers create a town that becomes their own, where they set their works. It’s usually based on one (or more than one) that they know, but can become more universal as a fictitious one (and avoid libel suits to boot!)

    Like

  10. A town where you can go to have your teeth pulled and your soul saved is indeed a mythically wonderful place, especially when penned by Nelle (Harper) Lee’s hand, Don. I once had a student who was hospitalized and absent for much of our class work reading TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD. He found so much comfort and joy in the town that he created a large poster–front and back, of the town–the front was an arial view from his imagination; the back was individual small pictures of details. My favorite was the tree where Boo Radley hid things that Jem and Scout found.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Just thinking of that student of yours Marylin. It’s quite amazing how powerful images in a book can be. When someone is moved to do something like that he was obviously deeply touched by what he read.

      One of my favourites too.

      Like

  11. calvin says:

    Believe what you need to Don, and don’t let anyone tell you different. Hudson Howl wasn’t real and only spoke the truth. If you can feel something it is real and I know you know I don’t mean touch.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

