That Little Word “Hate”

hate-634669_640Have you noticed how that little word, “hate” is so easily cast about nowadays. I hate this, or I hate that, or I hate him or her and so it goes, a bit like opening the tap full on to fill a glass of water unaware of the power that can knock the glass right out of your hand.

Wasn’t there a time when the sheer efficacy of the word was respected? You thought twice, no, ten times, before you uttered it. I think there was. The tragedy for me is, if we’ve done this with the word Hate, what have we done with the word, Love?

No doubt, when words like “love” and “hate” are tossed about like confetti, superficiality stands back and smiles.

Image – Courtesy Pixabay

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Communication, Literature, Prose and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to That Little Word “Hate”

  1. Wreck.Ecrits says:

    Accurate πŸ‘Œ

    Like

  2. cleeop says:

    Nicely written (β‰§βˆ‡β‰¦)b

    Like

  3. Oh, Don, you really caught me on this one. When I was growing up in a Brethren home (similar to Mennonite and Amish), Hate was not part of my vocabulary. So I ended up using it around friends in a bland-for-everything-irritating way: “Don’t you just hate it when —-?” and “I hate the taste of —”
    This is a terrific post and a good reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      I can understand that Marylin. I’ve done exactly the same kind of thing until I caught myself doing it. Now and again it slips out, but I’m committed to controlling it. Thank you for your meaningful share. I never knew you grew up in a Brethren home. I’m sure you must have mentioned it, but I must have missed it. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    You nailed it, Don! I try to catch myself when I start saying something I don’t really mean.

    Like

  5. Oh how right you are, Don. Far too easy to toss powerful words around without thought or care. I’ve been guilty of this myself on occasion and I instantly recognize my flippant use and mentally pinch myself. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for your comment Melissa. I’ve certainly been prone to that as well. I’ve made a kind of commitment to becoming more aware of it in myself.

      Like

  6. Val Boyko says:

    When I think of how people use the words “love” and “hate” nowadays, it seems to be about exaggeration, creating drama and striving for attention. The egos of the young have embraced them both with relish!
    It’s a shame because it does diminish the full meaning and dimensions of both words.
    Thanks for the ponder Don. xo

    Like

  7. Hariod Brawn says:

    Now I’m questioning myself for pressing the ‘like’ button Don. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    I am careful to think about using that word when it might imply that I actually hate something Don. I’m ok with the “I hate that” comical dramatic quip but there’s very little in the world that I actually hate. Good post, good food for thought.

    Like

    • Don says:

      “…there’s very little in the world that I actually hate.” That really spoke to me Dan. I pondered on that and came to the same conclusion. It is such a strong word.

      Like

  9. Susan Feniak says:

    I hate to tell you this but I love your post!! πŸ™‚ Hear me giggle?

    Like

  10. I’m not a fan of the word ‘hate’ either, gotta say I’m a huge fan of the word love though Don. ❀
    Diana xo

    Like

  11. Darrel H says:

    I also think of the word “starving” we say… I am so starving. Are we really? There are others who can for certain tell you how starvation feels!
    or the phrase “I’m bored.” I can’t stand that either.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Darrel. Good examples. I’ll be thinking of you both. Enjoy the ceremony and may you both bring love, joy and creativity in to your relationship. So glad that your Dad will be able to make it as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Don, I’m guilty of tossing about the word ‘love’. But I guess I can hide behind the excuse there are different kinds of love. Hate is such a hard and harsh word. This is the one I’d ‘love’ to delete from my vocabulary. πŸ˜‰
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  13. Hate is a word I dislike too, far too freely used and often with little justification. I’m with Wendy though with the word ‘love’! πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. Mary says:

    It’s a word or words that have gone beyond any kind of recognizable meaning, it’s a way to show ignorance and disrespect without thinking or considering the consequence. I miss 30 years ago ~ I know you understand Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Mary. It seems you feel pretty strong about it as well. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary says:

        Doesn’t make you wonder why we’ve all progressed so quickly? I wonder does it have to do with media, TV, movies, and now social media? Perhaps less strong parenting and teaching, preaching, etc. For the life of me I wonder, why society would want to continue down this path of destruction. I feel sad for what’s happened ~ can we ever pull back up?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Don says:

        I suppose it has to do with all those things Mary. πŸ™‚

        Like

  15. Guilty, Don…but I will try to be more careful. Thanks.

    Like

  16. Don says:

    Wasn’t meant to make you feel guilty Sheila. Just an observation. πŸ™‚

    Like

  17. calvin says:

    If it is man made all is suspect. The problem is the collective ‘we’ fail to elaborate. ‘I love this’, ‘I hate that’; but what interests me is ‘why’. I do agree with you. And you can even throw ‘religion’ in. Now there is a word that sends some into convulsions.

    Like

  18. ladyfi says:

    Agreed. There is far too much hate in the world!

    Like

  19. davecenker says:

    Superficial is such the perfect word for your thoughts on those two words, love and hate. I love when the word hate is not used, and I hate when the word love is used so nonchalantly. Yes, ironic indeed πŸ˜‰

    I suppose the point is that if we put more thought into the words we choose to use, they will carry along with them a genuine representation of our feelings, opinions, and emotions – instead of the surface level utterances that seem to characterize society these days.

    Very well done, Don, I always appreciate your short but ever so keen insights. Have a great day!

    Like

  20. Pingback: Superficiality | ME and the Boss

Leave a Reply

