An Aesthetic Spirit

One of the great joys I experience living in London is the aesthetic spirit of the city. Little scenes of beauty greet your eyes wherever you go. Londoners are extremely proud of their city. Here’s a pub I photographed with my phone.

2015

20150807_130821

But it goes further than this. The British spirit is infused with an appreciation of beauty, especially in nature. Numerous scholars link this wonderful cultural disposition to the spirit of the great nature poets, William Wordsworth, John Keats, Samuel Taylor Coleridge and others. What a legacy they have left, and to be able to share in this is such Β a gift and privilege.

Images: Taken with my mobile phone

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, imagination, Life, Nature, Poetic Imagination and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to An Aesthetic Spirit

  1. Val Boyko says:

    Lovely photos Don! Its amazing how much time and effort is put into hanging baskets, planters and small gardens in the UK. Others call is “charm” I would call it beautifying small spaces … because that’s usually all we have . Small is beautiful after all πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Dan Antion says:

    It seems like your settling in nicely to your new home Don. Lovely photos today.

    Like

  3. josna says:

    Love the photos, Don, and I agree with you and with Val. The Beirush are justly known for their passion for gardens and gardening. Just one quibble: Emily Dickinson was American, not British (her house is just down the road from ours) . She had a garden, it’s true, but I don’t particularly think of her as a nature ooet, since she was a recluse and spent most of her time indoors.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      You’re quite right Josna, she was American, Sorry about that. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Anonymous says:

      Don I had meant to add, Don’t mind me, I’m just argumentative. No argument at all with the sentiment of your post, and love your own aesthetic eye. It’s such fun to see London through you.

      Like

      • Don says:

        Not sure if this is you Josna. The comment came through as anonymous, but I think it is. Absolutely no problem at all. So glad you pointed that out. You have every right to. I needed to know that. I honestly thought she was British. πŸ™‚ Thank you for the compliment.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Gorgeous…never can get enough of this.

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Love those “nature” shots, Don!

    Like

  6. Hariod Brawn says:

    My local town, Glastonbury, is currently similarly adorned Don, and I was remarking to myself only yesterday what an elevating effect the flower baskets seem to have. I think that in the midst of commercial enterprises, such adornments suggest, if only subliminally, that we people care about more than mere money and acquisition, which is true. The cynic would say these displays are psychological ploys put in place by local chambers of commerce and the like to lure visitors, but the very fact that it works as an attractor still says something about values beyond consumerism – about aesthetics, nature and so forth.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Love your comment Hariod. You articulate so well some of the things I feel in looking at that scene. As you say, even if it is there to lure people it does point beyond those superficial values.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Mary says:

    What a lovely scene Don – the beautiful architecture surrounded by the flowers is perfect. Wow wonderful to have this infusion of color greet you.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Yes, Mary, the architecture is superb. Those street lamps are exquisite and everything goes so well with the colour and the flowers. Thanks for your comment

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary says:

        Do you feel like the place is home yet, or does it feel like you are a tourist. You wouldn’t be able to wipe the smile off my face!!

        Like

    • Don says:

      πŸ™‚ I certainly feel like its home Mary. I suppose because I’ve been here so often it hasn’t taken me long to feel at home. I so enjoy it here. Thank you for your interest.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. We were in London for our first time in 2011. As soon as we arrived I felt a strong energy around us. We seemed to walk and walk for hours without tiring. I felt really motivated while I was there. It is a beautiful environment to be in. I am glad you are meant to be there Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Karen. I really relate to what you say. That energy you speak of is something I also experience. It’s very real and I know others who have also described and felt it.

      Like

  9. Those are beautiful shots Don. What would say is the biggest difference (culturally or otherwise) since you moved? ❀
    Diana xo

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Diana. One of the key things that we are extremely thankful for is our safety. One feels safe here. In South Africa the crime rate is horrendous and I don’t even want to go there Diana, but you have no idea how it feels simply to feel safe, to be able to sleep at night, not to worry about alarms and for your safety. So the aspect of feeling safe is a big thing. Then London being a very cultural city is right up my alley, with it’s theatres, galleries etc. I love the place. There is a wonderful energy here as described by Karen in her comment. One feels alive and bright. πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. Darrel H says:

    I totally agree πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. QP and Eye says:

    What a gorgeous splash of colour. It would lift anyone’s spirits. Great photos Don. Sounds like you’re revelling in your new home country πŸ™‚ Linda

    Like

  12. davecenker says:

    It’s so great Don (and also a wonderful reminder) to see other appreciate the simple beauty of the world around them. I, for one, know that I take for granted where I live. While others long to catch just a glimpse of the sandy Florida beaches that don my virtual backyard, I too often see them as just another part of the landscape. Thanks for the reminder to keep our eyes open and allow that aesthetic appeal permeate our senses – and I’d love to hop over the “pond” sometime and visit that pub and experience that British spirit πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Dave. I too lived on the coastline in South Africa. I think the sea is the one thing I miss most, but here the sea is so close wherever you are. It certainly is a lovely pub.

      Like

  13. Wonderful pictures, Don. Emily Dickinson was such a New England homebody; I think it would have been electrifying for her to be a part of this aesthetic appeal, especially the British pub experience.

    Like

  14. ladyfi says:

    Such abundance of charm!

    Like

  15. The beautiful window boxes and plantings were one of the most charming parts of visiting London a few years ago. These are especially bright and cheerful. πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. I am delighted that you are finding beautiful hanging baskets to catch your eye. I just love how our towns, cities and villages make so much effort with their flower displays. Have you heard of Britain in Bloom? πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

