Hope

IMG_3152-4

I wonder if much of what we call hope isn’t a kind of hopeful guarantee that things will turn out in accordance with what we wish for and want. That’s more than often the case, I’m sure, but is that really hope, and are we fully conscious when we think like that? Surely hope is far bigger than that.

Inevitably it will always mean trusting in that which can and often does unfold and materialize beyond and even against our wishes and perceptions. Is it then possible that our wishes and wants might just get in the way of our hope as it seeks to unfold?

Image – My own

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Discernment, inspiration, Life, Photography, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Hope

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Hmmm, you’ve given us something to think about Don. I would like to think that hope is bigger, but sometimes, I think I confine it to something minor. More thought required.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hariod Brawn says:

    β€œHope is a waking dream.”
    ― Aristotle

    I tend to regard hope as desire, and have trouble seeing the distinction between the two Don. A hunger or thirst pervades both, a slight desperation perhaps? There is some suggestion that the etymology of the word ‘hope’ is from ‘hop’ – to ‘hop’ as to leap in expectation – although its origins seem to lie mainly in religious blind faith, which is probably why I am so hopeless. I think you are digging for a deeper answer than this, yet cannot quite follow your line. Are you saying that desire corrupts hope, and if so, what is the difference may I ask?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      I think I’m with you Hariod in not seeing any distinction between the two, hope and desire. I’m afraid when it comes to religious blind faith I too am hopeless. I just don’t go down that road. I think what I’m saying about hope or desire is this:

      Too often hopes and dreams are seen as something we have to make happen – a “you are the creator of what you hope for kind of philosophy.” So you make it happen and if it doesn’t happen there’s something wrong with your hoping or desire. One has to in a sense be in control of one’s hope and its outcome. There’s no place for space, surrender and openness to what will ultimately reveal itself. I think hope for me moves more in this second realm than in the first. So hope has more to do with living in the present and simply being open to that which unfolds out of the present without my control and manipulation. Somehow I think that is far bigger and meaningful when it comes to an understanding of hope or desire. Not sure if this makes sense, Hariod. Thank you for your question.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Yes, I agree that hope, the one that lay hidden on the bottom of Pandora’s box, is something bigger and more beautiful that we often make it to be. Something like in the beautiful and famous poem by Emily Dickinson (http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/171619)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nrhatch says:

    Like many words, hope has numerous definitions.

    In the larger sense, we might wish people Love, Hope, Peace, and Joy at yuletide ~ the enduring gifts of the Eternal Now.

    In the smaller sense, we might say, “I hope Santa brings you a Mercedes Benz.”

    I expect that, as you’ve noted, “smaller hopes” for This, That, or The Other Thing may impede our progress on the path to embracing the enduring gifts of Love, Hope, Peace, and Joy since our desires add to suffering.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      Thank you Nancy for this. Appreciate your comment. I tried to lay it out in my response to Hariod’s comment. You speak of the Eternal now and in my comment I expressed the importance of living in the present moment. Sometimes we are so busy in our hopes and trying to make them happen that we are not present to the given moment which ultimately has the power in itself to create a hope and a future which is more fully ours without the obsession to control it and make it happen. It simply happens as we intentionally live in the moment.

      Liked by 3 people

  5. Mary says:

    A lot to consider in this one Don – hope brings desires and sometimes actions that move the needle toward achieving what we hoped for. Your thoughts are really something to take time to think about ~

    Like

  6. Sam Red says:

    Yes, I agree with you that our “desire” (you have called it “hopeful guarantee”) and “will” (you refer to as “hope”) are not the same thing. Lovely post, which expresses quite a complex idea in an easily understandable way. Warm greetings, Sam πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Hmm…very interesting, Don.
    I think there is a difference between desire and hope. To me, desire is a strong wish for something; hope, on the other hand, is a heart-held prayer and a belief that in the end what happens can ultimately be for the good.
    But now you’ve got me thinking again, Don. Drat you. πŸ˜‰
    Good post!

    Like

  8. The meaning of hope in the dictionary is “A feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen.” So when I read this, it is exactly the opposite from living in the present with “what is.” Hope is an expectation of the future and that can lead us into disappointment and despair. Still, it is such a huge part of our dialogue everyday, “I hope your health improves,” I hope you do well,” “I hope you get what you want” I love this post Don, for the first time, I realise what hope means and I intend to use it less. Maybe our wish for one another should be, “May you always be able to accept this moment, and all that it holds for you.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Karen, your last sentence, I think, puts it beautifully. Hope is always wrapped up in that moment and all that it holds for us. That moment is pregnant with a hope and an unfolding beyond us, yet in us in that moment. Great comment and I celebrate your insight.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Susan Feniak says:

    Lots to think about with this one Don. My rusty wheels are grinding. Thank you for making them work.

    Like

  10. Val Boyko says:

    Love your thinking Don! What comes to my mind is where hope comes from and is kindled.
    If it is from our smaller self it is about our wants and desires for things that will benefit us. As you say, hoping that things work out in our own way.
    When hope is ignited from connecting to our higher Self and spirit, it expands into universal consciousness. There is acceptance here and a trust that things will unfold as they need to. It feels more like faith to me…
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love your image, Don. Wonderful.
    Your post reminds me of one of my favorite songs by Garth Brooks: Thank God for Unanswered Prayer. Hope is often seen better in the distant past.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. April says:

    I like this…the post and the photo. You have inspired me to rethink a few of my expectations and that’s a good thing. Thanks

    Like

  13. davecenker says:

    This is such a profound and thought-provoking passage Don. And, I couldn’t agree with you more. Too often, we do hope for what we want or desire. I suppose it’s our natural born human ego attempting to cast its influence on our direction through life.

    Personally, I would love to embrace those things that go against what I desire. Perhaps embracing those obstacles helps to solidify the ground beneath us. I would love to believe that, in the end, that which unfolds in my life is what is meant to be. It is a constant struggle, however. I will be the first to admit that. I think that is why faith (however you wish to define it) is a close companion to hope on our walk through life.

    And, by the way, wonderful image – makes me want to take a seat in a quiet spot and just think πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for your thoughtful and insightful comment Dave, appreciate it. You speak of a constant struggle. I grasp that. It often feels that way for me as well. I agree, certainly not easy.

      Those benches made quite an impression on me as I was walking past. I just had to take the shot. Again thanks Dave for your valued response.

      Like

  14. ladyfi says:

    Hope and desire are intertwined. Thank you for this thoughtful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Darrel H says:

    I like the shot of the benches. Seems fitting to this post. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      I also thought they were appropriate, Darrel. It’s a lovely park. I’m sure you’d enjoy it. Your life seems full of brightness and joy and that’s so good to see. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: 7 Quick Links & Thinks | Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

