A Glorious Past

IMG_3102.2

Every day my morning walk takes me past this old tree in a beautiful park. It stands there lifeless, rooted, dignified and mute. No more speaking through rustling leaves or creaking branches. No more life-giving sap running through its veins, a statue of remembrance to its own glorious past. I greet it every time I pass and I know somewhere deep down in its gnarled and hardened body, it hears me and greets me back.

Image – My own

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Beyond the Rational, Communication, inspiration, Life, Nature, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to A Glorious Past

  1. seaangel4444 says:

    What a lovely photo and description, Don! It most definitely hears you and appreciates your greetings, no doubt about it! Cher xo

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      Thanks for that Cher.

      Liked by 1 person

      • seaangel4444 says:

        Don, have you ever heard of the phrase, “Witness Tree”? In Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, there is a very old tree which locals call a, “Witness Tree”. This dear tree stood and witnessed fighting in the Battle of Gettysburg during the American Civil War in 1863. It is extremely overwhelming to stand in front of this massive tree and know that it was present when these young men fought directly in front of it. There is something about it that feels extraordinary. Cher xo

        Liked by 2 people

      • Don says:

        No I haven’t Cher, but you have no idea how this description you give touches me. I do believe that nature has this capacity to witness and somehow to take in to itself what it sees. Thank you so much for sharing that. You have made my day.

        One day I will visit Gettysburg. It’s a dream I have. I think I may have shared that with you. 🙂

        Like

  2. That’s how I feel when I see the remains of something once majestic like your tree. It is a kind of respect for what it has been through, and a validation of its existence. Good on you Don! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a beautiful photo. It looks like they have trimmed it so it can remain. I hope that’s the case. You’re right Don, it still conveys a sense of dignity.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. You are living near a very beautiful park, Don and I can understand why you love this old, old tree. It makes me wonder what it has seen in the park over the years as Cher makes reference to the Witness Tree. Off goes my imagination……..
    All the best to you and yours 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      It is very beautiful Sally and I already have some special places there. They have what they call a “Quiet Garden” a little place kind of hidden away in the park. I love going there. It really is a beautiful little space. I just love living here.
      I hope you are healing well and that you will be restored to full mobility.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love it Don – say hi from Diana next time you pass it! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. nrhatch says:

    You might enjoy this:

    Like

  7. Taoist Masters believe trees are the largest and most spiritually advanced plants on earth. They are constantly in meditation, and subtle energy is their natural language. As our understanding of this language grows, we can begin to develop a relationship with them.

    I am a tree hugger from way back Don! and I really feel connected to their energy. Your tree is definitely special and to imagine the story of it’s past helps you connect to it’s energy. Lovely picture and post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Such an interesting description of the Taoist Masters, Karen. I can understand why they feel about trees as they do. Good to hear you are a kindred spirit when it comes to trees. 🙂 Thank you for your words.

      Like

  8. A touching tribute to a wonderful, gnarled tree, Don.

    Like

  9. davecenker says:

    It takes a quiet soul to hear the words that nature speaks to each of us. Thanks for sharing your wisdom with us, Don. It’s a little disappointing to think about, perhaps, but it is amazing how loudly and profoundly something speaks to us after it has passed on to the next stage of life, or beyond. Thanks for the reminder to remain awake and aware of all that is alive around us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Thank you Dave. You’re right. It’s so easy to take things for granted around us and then suddenly to experience their essence in a new way when they are no longer with us. There’s something rather sad about that.

      Like

  10. Hariod Brawn says:

    With roots still in the earth, yet heart given over to the heavens, a conduit for your kind thoughts Don, a ladder to the stars.

    Like

  11. Darrel H says:

    Walking everyday sounds so blissful. Amazing!

    Like

  12. Mary says:

    Wonderful Don. These old and ancient trees, with nothing left except their shell are elegant creatures of past and with a permanent hold on the present ~ I find them fascinating landmarks.

    Like

  13. I had a favorite tree like this one in my walks on Old Plantersville Road in Texas – it was one of my favorite friends there. I am convinced it knew me well. Great post and picture, Don.

    Like

  14. ladyfi says:

    So beautifully written! I feel this way about trees too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

