Announcing Your Presence

capital-2653_640

I love the London Underground. Many little things happen there I so enjoy reflecting on. For instance, standing on the platform waiting for the train to arrive, and the way it announces its arrival without as yet being seen, by a sudden burst of rushing wind in to the station.

Now, is that being courteous, or is it egotistical. I suppose it depends on the motive, but then trains don’t have motive, people do though. Ever watched the myriad ways in which people announce their presence? Can be quite fascinating. πŸ™‚

Image – courtesy Piixabay

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Announcing Your Presence

  1. I love your description, Don, the “…the way it announces its arrival without as yet being seen, by a sudden burst of rushing wind in to the station.” The big-city subways don’t have that poetic connotation, so I especially appreciate your details.

    Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I’m familiar with the oncoming train whoosh, but I never thought about the way people announce their presence. I am going to try an observe that today – thanks for the mental exercise Don!

    Like

  3. Hariod Brawn says:

    Well Don, one way not to announce one’s presence is with a sudden burst of rushing wind! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nrhatch says:

    Yes!

    “You walked into the party . . . like you were walking onto a yacht. . . . You had one eye in the mirror as you watched yourself walk by . . . ”

    vs.

    “HERE’S JOHNNY!”

    vs.

    “So sorry we’re late did we miss anything the traffic was terrible we caught every light so sorry to hold things up it’s always something isn’t it”

    Like

  5. Our energy introduces us, before we even speak! So true Don. People’s presence is often what we remember.

    Like

  6. Don, in a previous job, I recognized the sound of my colleagues’ footsteps. I always knew who was coming before they got to my office. ❀
    Diana xo

    Like

    • Don says:

      That’s quite amazing Diana. I always marvel at the way we are able to discern certain things about people. I like that, announcing your presence through the sound of your footsteps. It’s so unassuming and ego-less.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. calvin says:

    Don, an interesting observation. For me on this day, having just returned from the funeral of my mother’s brother, I am doing just that. Pondering on the many ways one person can make their presence known. For any person, I think the loudest and profound way is to be your own person to a fault.

    Like

    • Don says:

      So sorry for your loss, Calvin. I feel there’s a depth of meaning in what you say. That surely is the deepest way of announcing your presence. Not only does it provide unique presence, but humble presence. When you are your own person, instead of imperialistic presence always seeking to prove yourself, it is one of unassuming compassion and strength of purpose. Wonderful insight, Calvin, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. davecenker says:

    I must say Don, you have always provided very thought-provoking and reflective ruminations to ponder. But, you have certainly stepped it up a notch since your relocation. Very well done!

    You are so right, some people quietly, but powerfully, announce their presence like the rush of wind. Others, maybe a bit more direct and in your face, like the blaring horn that accompanies the train as it rounds the final bend into the station.

    So much to learn from an inanimate object, when we open our eyes, our ears, and our mind. Thank you Don πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. BunKaryudo says:

    I also like the whoosh of express trains as they go past. I always have to turn my head into the oncoming wind, though, so that my hair doesn’t blow all over the place and leave me looking like a scarecrow. I often wonder what the other passengers must think as I turn this way and that in the breeze like the weathervane on a church steeple.

    Like

  10. ladyfi says:

    Wonderful description of the tube!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

