Signs of Autumn

Leaves 1

Walking through Dulwich Park this morning, Jane pointed out this first little sign of Autumn’s arrival. This may sound strange, but I’m looking forward to Autumn, and then the Winter. Having lived on the East Coast of South Africa for twenty years I haven’t experienced a sharp divide between the seasons in all that time.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Life, Nature, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Signs of Autumn

  1. seaangel4444 says:

    I think it will be lovely for you and Jane to experience Fall, Don! It is wonderful to feel the different air, leaves falling, crisp, Autumn mornings. Cher xo

    Like

    • Don says:

      I’m sure it will be Cher. Some say it’s just a novelty I’m feeling. But I feel deep within myself that I don’t experience things purely as novelty. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • seaangel4444 says:

        Ah, I truly don’t think it’s a novelty at all, Don. In fact, whenever I speak with people about changing seasons and how they’d feel to be in a climate without differential temperatures, the overwhelming response is always, “Oh, I would miss Fall more than anything”. Many times I’ve had conversations (especially with Canadians) that feel it would be ‘lovely’ to live on a warm, tropical island, BUT what about the crisp, cool Fall days? No, I think do not believe you experience things purely as novelty, dear Don. It’s something within you that is telling you what a glorious experience to look forward to each year at this time! (Sorry for writing so much)! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

      • Don says:

        Really appreciate your comment Cher. Thank you for that.

        Like

  2. I can’t wait to read about your experience here Don! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hariod Brawn says:

    The seasons have blurred in their distinctions here in Britain as a result of climate change it seems Don; although autumn remains my favourite of the four – the evening light and colours, the richness of the leaf tones, the quietly conducted closing duties of the bees, the sense of nature coming to a rest.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. And as your autumn arrives, so does our spring. 🙂

    Like

  5. Don, I love the picture; it’s what my grandmother would have called the “lonely sentinel of the seasons.” All alone, the first indication. She called the first spring dandelion the same thing. 😉

    Like

    • Don says:

      “lonely sentinel of the seasons” – what a moving and insightful description Marylin. You’ve made me look at the leaf in a different way. She was obviously a woman with soul.

      Like

  6. I’m looking forward to autumn, too, Don. I love to see the seasons change!

    Like

  7. What a beautiful photograph Don. It is very significant of change. I am sure you will enjoy the experience of cooler months, but I will ask you again in five years and see how you feel! 🙂

    Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    Enjoy every nuance!

    Like

  9. QP and Eye says:

    Beautifully composed Don. There is something quite special about experiencing four distinct seasons. Do we wish for a white Christmas this first one in your new home? 🙂 Linda

    Like

  10. Mary says:

    Don I hope you and Jane have the most splendid Autumn, it’s a special time of the year.

    Like

  11. Darrel H says:

    I agree. The contrasts between the seasons are amazing there. Autumn.. and wearing coats was my favourite time of the year 🙂

    Like

  12. Dan Antion says:

    I am looking forward to autumn too Don. I spent three years in Seattle, Washington where fall is a nondescript slow slide into a dreary wet winter. I messed that “sharp divide” you mentioned more than I imagined I would have. Enjoy your taste of the seasons!

    Like

  13. calvin says:

    In the most fantastic way, I am romanticized by the colour, comforting texture and pleasurable tones in this, Don. New experience are very much a ‘good ‘ting’. And Autumn is probably the most sexy of seasons. That said, and knowing full well on this side of the Atlantic, Mother Nature has an icy spear in her quiver.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I’m so glad you said that Calvin. I was also absolutely taken by the colour and texture. It’s almost as if the bench itself is expressing the spirit of autumn in its colour. I love your description of Autumn being the most “sexy” of seasons. 🙂

      Like

  14. davecenker says:

    I am jealous Don. Living on the east coast of Florida for twenty years, I too miss the gradual shift as the seasons cycle. It’s as if those small imperceptible changes give us a clue as to what is coming. It helps to keep our sense of self-awareness keenly acute. And, I couldn’t agree more. There is something about appreciating the dichotomy of the seasons that allows that vision to be reflected back to also appreciate the contrast in our human experiences as our own seasons change. Well done, Don, and a beautiful image filled with richness and vivacity, despite the fact that it’s reality is the polar opposite – a perfect demonstration of the dichotomy we embrace 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Dave your comments are always a joy to read. So glad you understand something of that struggle of living in a context with no real divide in the seasons. Contrast is such an important element in life and without it things can look rather bland. Thanks again Dave.

      Like

  15. ladyfi says:

    The changing of the seasons is a small miracle! And what a lovely shot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

