Jousting Contest

I went to a Jousting Contest the other day and so enjoyed it. I’ve never seen it before. It was quite an experience and the knights, especially the Black Knight, were so impressive in their jousting regalia, if that’s what you call it. I would really enjoy seeing another one. I took photos of the actual joust, but they weren’t good enough to post. These two I took are part of the preparation.

IMG_2997.1-2

IMG_2995.1-2

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, history, Jousting, Photography, Sport and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Jousting Contest

  1. kcg1974 says:

    Great photos! I’ve seen some of these at festivals and such. Always fun and entertaining!

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    Medieval Fairs are fun . . . and colorful!
    You hit the bulls eye with this jousting post!

    Like

    • Don says:

      “Hit the bulls eye,” I like that Nancy. You’re right, it is extremely colourful and those horses are enormous. I would have hated to face the Cavalry charges of those days with horses that size. Pretty frightening.

      Like

  3. Susan Feniak says:

    Now that would be something to see!! Impressive indeed.

    Like

  4. Dan Antion says:

    These are great photos Don. Did they use Nerf poles or was it actually a dangerous?

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hell, Dan, I’m not sure, but whatever they used looked pretty dangerous to me. One guy was knocked right out of his saddle, not sure whether he added to the drama by allowing himself to be.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. davecenker says:

    I sorta wish I was still young enough to go trick or treating. I think I know what I would dress up as this year šŸ™‚ These are some awesome photos, Don. The color are so vivid, and the contrast between the costumes on each of the knights is amazing. They have a Renaissance festival about an hour away from our house once a year. Looks like I might need to put that on my short list of things to do šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Dave. Yes,the colourful dress made for good shots and really added to the overall entertainment. The knights were impressive, especially their horses as I said in my comment to Nancy.

      Like

  6. Darrel H says:

    Wow, England never ceases to amaze me… who would have thought. a jousting compo!

    Like

  7. They are such fun aren’t they? There is a jousting festival each year at Pendennis Castle in Falmouth and we went with the Grandchildren last year, very exciting! Glad you enjoyed the spectacle. Your photos are lovely. šŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Looks like a great day Don, I do wonder however, how they see clearly in those helmets while jousting?

    Like

  9. I love how much you are enjoying your new home Don! ā¤
    Diana xo

    Like

  10. QP and Eye says:

    The English have a great sense of heritage and occasion. Anyone for Morris dancing …

    Like

  11. WONDERFUL pictures, Don. Makes me think of A KNIGHT’S TALE!

    Like

  12. joshi daniel says:

    interesting one šŸ™‚

    Like

  13. calvin says:

    The Dark Knight -I always thought you had a dark side (imagine smiley face emot here).

    Like

  14. calvin says:

    I just know there is some good humoured mental floss in there somewhere, but am not going to touch it even with a 12 foot jousting lance – a cartoonist I am not. But you could, I bet.

    Like

  15. Don, I love the bright colorful pictures – but they still have jousting contests in England? That strikes me as well, I’m not sure what. Strange maybe. But good for you for going!! šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

