Nature’s Portals

I enjoy taking shots of the natural portals in nature. They are almost womb-like and I often find myself walking through them in a kind of ritualistic act of birth. When I did this in the first one here I nearly fell in to the water. ๐Ÿ™‚

Shoreline-

Openings 2

 

 

 

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Nature, Photography, Poetic Imagination and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Nature’s Portals

  1. Beautiful shots, Don. I can sure relate to your love of nature and the tendency to take risks with one’s footing in order to capture the perfect picture.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  2. Hariod Brawn says:

    Yes Don, there is always something inviting or intriguing about portals, even when we may be anxious about what may be revealed once we pass through them. I think there are psychological analogies here, particularly as regards the spiritual search.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      It’s funny how that anxiousness has the power as well to draw you through the portal. I love the paradox, Hariod, in portals – the anxiety, but also the sense of adventure and newness.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Val Boyko says:

    Nature’s portals … Draw me in too Don. Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. seaangel4444 says:

    Don, these are absolutely stunning. I get a sense of peace and calm when looking at them. Talk about capturing wonderful energy and feeling in photo-form! Well done! Cher xo

    Like

  5. The first picture has such beautiful energy Don. I agree, it is a gift in Nature for us to experience, and I am glad you didn’t fall in the water ha.

    Like

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful photos Don. I’d like to walk through that first one myself. The reflection is deceiving.

    Like

  7. So beautiful Don. Almost fell in the water, eh? Another element that makes this portal birth-like! โค
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  8. These are stunning, Don. Lush, inviting, rich. Your description of womb-like is perfect. Like Dan, I would like to walk through the first one myself.

    Like

  9. Robert says:

    There’s something about the luminous shades of green; divinely beautiful Don

    Like

  10. After the birth, the baptism! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  11. davecenker says:

    It’s amazing how certain environments, situations, and people, can pull you into their grasp and not let go, making us completely oblivious to anything else around us. It’s both invigorating and scary at the same time, but mostly invigorating when we learn to release control and just let ourselves live a little bit ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks Don, great thoughts and wonderful images!

    Like

  12. Susan Feniak says:

    Stunning images Don!!

    Like

  13. I love that term, ‘Nature’s portals’ and I love the places too. These are lovely photos of beautiful places. One of the things I especially like about Cornwall are what we call the tunnels of trees where the lanes are covered in trees. These become square edged where double decker buses pass through. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  14. ladyfi says:

    How green and leafy and heavenly!

    Like

  15. Gorgeous captures of divine moments, Don! It is in these portals, as you’ve called them, that the true essence of a location is shared. Drinking it all in as we are aware of the moment brings a wondrous connection. Beautiful post, yet again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

