Nature’s Textures

Texture-

There’s just something about the textures of the natural world that always seems to evoke our sense of touch. For example, I would find it extremely difficult to walk past an old tree without running my fingers across its gnarled and rough bark. I captured this particular Autumn texture and confess that I ran my fingers over and across it before taking the shot. It felt marvellous. Natural textures have always held  a profound attraction for me.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Nature’s Textures

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    Sensational colouration Don – what is it, a Japanese Maple perhaps?

    Like

  2. Val Boyko says:

    Colors, shadow and textures are what I connect to most in nature. For others it might be smell and touch. … No matter what it is, when we can get it of heads and appreciate nature in all her forms, I know it is a good thing 💛

    Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    So interesting…

    Like

  4. I agree Don, and looking at this luscious tree, I would be definitely want to get closer to its rich texture.

    Like

  5. Wow, Don! This is autumn glory personified! I want to reach out and touch it, too!

    Like

  6. Susan Feniak says:

    Stunning indeed! I would be reaching out and touching the leaves. Inviting.

    Like

  7. Rhonda says:

    Beautiful Don. The color alone is arresting. It looks as if it would be soft as feathers! It does look like to be a Japanese Maple which never disappoints the eye in shape and color. Just lovely

    Like

  8. davecenker says:

    So very true, Don. It’s funny – I think nature provides us with as many intangible textures as it does of the touchy-feely kind 😉 You have captured this one perfectly, thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

