Church Steeples

Church Steeple-3-2

Church steeples are not only architectural marvels, but beautiful symbols of humankind’s highest aspirations. They certainly touch something deep inside of me, but sadly they also speak of a spirituality that, in its worship of the sky god, has too often become detached in a state of medieval religiosity and other worldliness. For me the words  “up there” in the language of spirituality has been a serious problem. Talk to me of being “in” or “within” or “rooted” or “next to” or “with” or “humanity” and you’ve got my attention. Heaven, whatever it is,  or however it is understood, is in my book always wrapped up  in the here and now and in the  magnificence and beauty of earthiness.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Contemplation, inspiration, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Church Steeples

  1. Mary says:

    A beautiful shot Don and a provocative post. I’m in the middle of spirituality and in the here-and-now, I believe in a connection that ties both together. It fills as though humanity is straying to a point that will become destructive of the magnificence that you speak of ~ wish I had more time because I’d love to explore this at a deeper level.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      I hear the struggle Mary. I think for me no matter how destructive humanity may be, and I don’t say this lightly, there is within an overwhelming sense of goodness that can’t be crushed. I really do believe this.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. In French Champagne, I’ve often heard “the more pointed the steeple is, the better the champagne”. I doubt if it is true and I have no idea of its origin. Nice picture, Don !

    Like

  3. Hariod Brawn says:

    Well said Don, and it seems to me that the promulgation of religious cosmology often acts as a brake on people’s inherent spiritual inclinations – hence the rise in secular Buddhism and the like.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.” Gautama Buddha. Wonderful post and comments Don.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Dan Antion says:

    Great photo Don. That’s a good use of B&W. There is something magnificent about the steeple.

    Like

  6. Val Boyko says:

    When I see a steeple I think more of the village and the role that the church has played there… Along with the manor house and the pub. Each has played a part in bringing people together.
    Spirituality for me has evolved from these orderly roots. Nowadays it seems to be more about freedom from rules and embracing what each of us can find within ourselves. Quite the turnaround from the expectations if traditional village life.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      Really like what you say here Val. Those roots you speak of are the very earthiness of spirituality. But then, spirituality also has to evolve and transcend rules. Thanks for this insight.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. nrhatch says:

    That’s a steep steeple!

    Like

  8. I love that photo. I love that it’s black and white. and I love the accompanying commentary. Good post Don! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    Lovely photo! You could say that steeples are like stone hands held up to the sky in prayer.

    Like

  10. Darrel H says:

    Amen. Have a peaceful and meaningful Christmas Don and Jane 🙂

    Like

  11. Reaching for the eternal! How we all want more than we can see in tis life!

    Like

  12. I see posted a lot on FB how we need to keep Christ in Christmas and the point of view of the sender is usually that Christmas is for Christians. Every time I see it I wonder what Christ would say. Would he really say that peace and goodwill belong to only those who believe in a certain kind of religion? Or would Christ say remember be and what I said was the most important? Love thy neighbor as thyself. What you do to the least of my brothers you do to me. I don’t think religion is about spirituality at all. I think religion, sadly, all too often is about fear. We don’t know how to live in the mystery of spirit and so we think we can define it and contain it in one religion. By doing so, we also believe we’ve given ourselves the power we inherently feel we lack. If I own God, Source, Spirit, whatever term you care to use, I am then now powerful. It’s all so very backwards, because our true power always existed as we stood naked and alone in an empty field.

    Like

  13. I couldn’t agree more, Don.

    Like

  14. davecenker says:

    Very well spoken, Don – I couldn’t agree more with your observations and insights. Incidentally, I really like the use of black and white tones in this photograph. It adds and ethereal nature to the setting that seems very appropriate for your thoughts. Well done, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  15. Wonderful post, Don.
    In college, I spent two weekends caring for an elderly woman whose daughter and son-in-law needed some time to themselves. The elderly woman was very demanding and sad about spending the last part of her life confined to a house where the TV was too loud, etc.
    As it turned out, she absolutely loved to take long rides to little towns nearby, so for two days of each weekend, that’s what we did. One nearby town had a Greek Orthodox-type spires on the church… very ornate. She didn’t care for that at all, saying there was nothing spiritual about it.
    Later we found an abandoned old clapboard church out in the country, and the steeple had nests of birds under the eaves.
    She loved it. We went back with our lunches and a thermos of tea and sat in the car and watched what she proclaimed as “Nature’s tribute to God.”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      Beautiful story, Marylin. She must have been a grounded person and a woman of essence. I can grasp and understand something of her perceptions. Thank you for a marvellous comment.

      Like

  16. calvin says:

    We stand in awe. And we forget they’re there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

