Letting Go

IMG_20160807_172635

That moment:

when you’ve sold your home and you close and lock the door for the last time, never to return, and all the memories, happy and sad, push themselves up against the window and watch you go.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Letting Go

  1. “…push themselves up against the window and watch you go.” Eloquent and so very real. It reminds me of when I moved my parents from their home of 56 years. They had to go to a care apartment because of my father’s Alzheimer’s, and as we drove away, he sadly waved goodbye to the house. It still breaks my heart to think about it.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I love the way you expressed this, Don. I shed a few silent tears as I drove away from the house we had our three babies in. Just seeing pictures of the old place transports me inside the front door again.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Dan Antion says:

    That’s such an intriguing thought, Don. I’ve lived i a few places (in college) where those memories were probably smiling as I left. Mostly, I think we were mutually sad.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. that container of so many memories, what a sad goodbye.
    an excellent post coupled with perfect pictuce

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Val Boyko says:

    So poignant Don. The letting go of a piece of our life. Thankfully memories come with us 😎

    Liked by 2 people

  6. June Neuhoff says:

    When I was a child we never stayed in a place for longer than 2 years. So what you said, would have had no meaning to me. When Gerry and I got married and moved into our house 34 years ago, I now know what you are talking about. I love our home. Maybe I should write my 2nd book and called it “IF ONLY WALLS COULD TALK. ” What do you think Don?

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Beautifully expressed Don. Letting go and saying goodbye is never easy, and yet, it is exactly how we discover new horizons and grow. πŸ™πŸ»

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What a beautiful image, the memories watching you go and probably sharing your sadness and hopefully anticipating both a good future for you and making memories with the next family to move in.
    We were so happy when we left our last home where our children had grown up, to know that a young family was moving in and would keep the house full of squeals of laughter – though we still miss that house! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Don says:

      Thank you for that, Sally. We also had a young family move in and we liked that. They certainly looked like a couple who would look after the house as we did. They were very excited about the place and that was so good to see.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Don, it’s so good to see you pop up in my reader again! Really love the imagery in this post. ❀
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Kathy says:

    I’ve often wondered how it was for you to leave, and whether I could do it. It’s one thing knowing that after goodbye there’s a hello in another place, but it takes a huge leap of faith and a whole lot of courage to make and accept the changes. Thanks for sharing your experience in such a poignant image. The memories have let you go and set you free for a whole new chapter. I have to do that right where I am – third year in retirement πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Thank you Kathy. Yes, not easy but so worth it. We love being here and already life is taking on a deeper significance in so many ways. Wish you well as you let go.

      Like

  11. Welcome home, Don! I have been missing you – the thing about leaving a home you’ve loved and been loved by is you never know if your next home will be as loved or loving. Casa de Canterbury was not a home I loved or felt loved by when we came here in 2009, but over the years we’ve made our peace with each other and now I would say we practically have a love affair. You never know.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Thanks Sheila. Good to hear from you. I think ours was love at first sight. When we saw our new home we just knew that that was the place. Preparing it has been a sheer joy. So glad you’re in a love affair with your home now.

      Liked by 2 people

  12. Calvin S says:

    I read this. Read again, Again. Then yet again. I guess am seeing this a little differently than others. Yes, you’ve painted a poignant and graphic image with words, for which you receive a solid gold medal ‘GRUNT’. But you cannot leave memories behind, can you? Maybe you can detach from a house, but a home, why that is something else. Glass, mortar, wood and brick cannot prevent memories from following. Am sure they’re in residence now, in the new place. You need the old memories to get along with new kids -be it in house or in head.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Hi Calvin. great hearing from you. You’re right, but I guess they kind of stay behind in the house until they’re ready to follow you into the new one.

      Like

  13. Mary says:

    Great to see you again Don. Your words are so compelling and poignantly written, brought tears to my eyes as I recall several major moves that we went through – I never thought of the windows holding all the good and sad memories as we drove away. Beautiful as usual ~

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Darrel H says:

    So good to have you back. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Hariod Brawn says:

    As Val and Calvin have said themselves, Don, ‘poignant’ was the word that immediately leapt to mind. A little bit of your heart is still back there alongside the memories, keeping them company and peering through the window at you, I suspect?

    Like

    • Don says:

      A little bit Hariod, but our place here is really beginning to look the way we want it and it has become home. Those memories dwell here now and are beginning to love the new ones being made in our new home.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. ladyfi says:

    Having moved recently, I feel you! Love that shot – so poignant.

    Like

  17. Robert says:

    So true, the emotional bond to a place can be extremely strong especially when you call it home.

    Like

  18. Norm 2.0 says:

    Beautifully said.

    Like

Leave a Reply

