Finding a Lost Part

The other day I found a pen I thought I had lost and felt such a sense of celebration. It had been part of a special period in my personal history, hence the joy. 

It got me thinking about those wonderful moments when we suddenly find a lost part of ourselves and have the joy of integrating it back into our lives. It’s often the very wound itself caused by the loss, that points and guides us back to that part.

I couldn’t help thinking of this when I took the above image.I think its true to say that when you look carefully through the wound, you actually see what was lost and where it fits.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Health, inspiration, Life, Photography, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Finding a Lost Part

  1. Darrel H says:

    is that a leaf or flower resting at the “base” of the circle?

    Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a beautiful photo, Don and some you’ve left me with quite a notion to consider. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ladyfi says:

    Fabulous photo! And yes, it is lovely to rediscover a lost part of oneself.

    Like

  4. The photo is a perfect match for your wisdom Don. Our wounds lead us on search to heal, and it is there we find the lost parts of self.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Twenty-one years ago, we were in a rollover car accident, Don. I had 105 stitches in my face from the broken windshield, and we all were grateful to “walk” away from the wreck. Almost everything in the car and even inside our suitcases was ruined. Nearly a year later a wonderful road worker found a little 12-photo holder out in a field. He turned it in and it was amazing how they tracked it down to our accident. Most of the pictures were water stained, but just receiving it from people who cared enough to get it to us was a touching assurance that helped me heal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      What a wonderful story, Marylin. It’s stories like these that restore one’s confidence in people and in life again. How we yearn for that kind of thoughtfulness to deepen in our society. Have you fully healed now, Marylin? It must have been incredibly traumatic for you and your family. Thank you for sharing.

      Like

  6. Val Boyko says:

    I love this photo Don… and your reflection!
    Finding something that is lost opens our hearts … which is where the original wound lies. 💛

    Like

  7. Don, I rediscovered the joy of creating art as I entered a new healing journey two years ago. This post speaks deeply into that. Lovely thoughts and picture.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

Leave a Reply

