Light and Shadow

20160930_114225_001-2

While walking this morning my eye caught this beautiful example of light and shadow. I was struck particularly by the dappled light on the one tree trunk. I’m haunted by light and shadow.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Beauty, Contemplation, inspiration, Nature, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Light and Shadow

  1. Val Boyko says:

    At this time of year, when the sun is lower in the sky, the light seems to shine brighter against the the darker shadows. Your photo captures it so well Don ­čĺŤ

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love light and shadow too. This is a beautiful capture of such.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful, Don. It’s the kind of scene that makes you stop and wonder for a minute.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Recognizing the light and shadow in ourselves and the world is important. Great picture Don.

    Like

  5. Simple truths from these trees, Don. I have a great affection for trees, especially for the less-than-perfect trees, and the lights and shadows make a poignant picture.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Marylin. I too have that affection for trees so I know something of how you feel. It was passed on to me by my Mother who loved them and who would often sketch them.

      Like

  6. Calvin says:

    It is difficult at times. Is it not Don. To know. To distinguish. Whether the shadows and light are stalking or beckoning. Either way. They’re fun to dance with when a stiff breezes makes they’re torsos shimmy.

    Like

  7. roythoman says:

    I can’t pass up good light and shadows either. I must capture it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

