Silence and Authority

I was watching a police officer going about his work in a rather rowdy and disruptive context. Much of the noise was abuse being hurled at him.

I was touched by his silence in it all. He simply went about his task of standing his ground and protecting a particular entrance from unlawful entry.

As I watched him I couldn’t help but feel, that at a level invisible to us, silence is profoundly linked to a true and authentic expression of authority.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Life, wisdom and insight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Silence and Authority

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I think you’re right Don. It shows an inner strength that many are lacking.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. “Silence is true wisdom’s best reply.”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Profound in its simplicity, Don. I’ve forwarded this to my son-in-law and his policeman friends. I’ve watched this silent focus and strength in my son-in-law, but you said it so much better than I can!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Val Boyko says:

    Choosing to be silent takes strength and a certain will. He chose the right thing to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ladyfi says:

    So true! What inner strength and dignity… not easy to achieve.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hariod Brawn says:

    I suppose there’s much wisdom in knowing when to argue a point, Don, when to confront confrontation itself, and in knowing when to desist. This made me think of Karl Popper’s Paradox of Tolerance:

    “Unlimited tolerance must lead to the disappearance of tolerance. If we extend unlimited tolerance even to those who are intolerant, if we are not prepared to defend a tolerant society against the onslaught of the intolerant, then the tolerant will be destroyed, and tolerance with them.”

    All best wishes and thanks, my friend,

    Hariod.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hariod, this is a superb quote – outstanding. Another marvellous example of the paradoxical nature of life. It speaks so deeply in to forms of liberalism that become so “liberal” they begin to tear apart and destroy the very values and ideals on which the great liberal traditions are built. That quote is such a timely reminder. Thank you for that.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Mary says:

    We could learn a lesson or two from this gentleman. Authority or not, restraint took great personal control and strength – his display was a timely example of what is right and wrong with our society.

    Like

  8. Don says:

    I agree, Mary.There was a lot to reflect on here and much could be learnt.

    Like

  9. I agree. Silence is so important, in every aspect of life. We learn the most when we are silent and still. Thank you for posting this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

