Over Enthusiasm

Enthusiasm is a good thing. There’s nothing more energizing than an enthusiastic person, but please spare me the kind of artificial enthusiasm that seems to be so common nowadays.

I was watching a good documentary the other night absolutely spoilt by the over exuberance of the presenter. His exaggerated speech and histrionic voice, punctuated by superlative after superlative and accompanied by wild hand and arm gestures, became so annoying, I wanted to switch the TV off. I tried to look past it all and strangely enough enjoyed the show, but not him.

What is it with these over exuberant expressions of enthusiasm? Perhaps it is what psychologists call “Reaction Formation” where a lack of something is made up for, through an overdose of that very thing. Whatever it is, it comes across as phony and false and is terribly annoying.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Communication, Entertainment, Life, Passion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Over Enthusiasm

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    I couldn’t agree more, Don. Why do so many insist that they’re ‘so excited’ about this or that, when patently they’re either not, or really shouldn’t be? Why is everything considered ‘great’ when it’s simply okay; what’s wrong with okay, and where is there then room for greatness when everything’s deemed ‘great’? This ubiquitous use of hyperbole drives me totally nuts. Well, that’s an exaggeration. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Val Boyko says:

    Oh dear… exaggerated American “GREATNESS” is seeping everywhere. It does sound fake to me as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. WOW! I so appreciate your way with words, Don. This was a bull’s eye!

    Like

  4. We all know when people are being authentic and speak from their heart. 💚

    Like

  5. Dan Antion says:

    You’ve zeroed in on a pet peeve of mine, John. I prefer having good content and being able to decide for myself how excited to get. Although I try not to watch them too often, I’ve noticed this on sports talk shows. It’s like they think a weak argument at loud volume will work as well as a good argument.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dan Antion says:

      And of course, I meant ‘Don’ – I saw that typo a microsecond after pressing ‘post’ – sigh…

      Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      You’re right Dan. Sports shows are notoriously like that. At times those commentators look absurd. Your point about “deciding for yourself” is a good one. I think sometimes people are forced in to this false show of enthusiasm because that’s the “cool” thing to be. God help those who are naturally introverted.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. josna says:

    Totally, Don. Even the “serious” BBC documentaries seem to feel that they have to sensationalize the material to make it interesting, but it puts me clean off!

    Like

    • Don says:

      It’s so sad, Josna. I’ve seen that too on the BBC. Just the other day I watched a BBC Historical documentary and the presenter was trying to “brighten up” the narrative. It was terrible and I couldn’t help but think about how much of the factual dimension was being sacrificed.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. nrhatch says:

    The more desperate people are to create enthusiasm, the more fake, forced and phony it feels. Witnessing people trying too hard to have fun is a big pile of AWKWARD.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

