A River

 

20161201_141033

This morning I stood on a bridge in Aylesford and quietly watched the Medway river running towards its oneness with the sea. I’ve been reading about the history of this river and visualized and imagined all its ancient stories written into its rocks and flowing waters. I came to the conclusion that there’s nothing more like life, than a river. I suspect this was something of what Norman Maclean felt when he wrote, ” I am haunted by waters.”

(Image taken with my mobile)

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, imagination, inspiration, Life, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A River

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I love photos where the sky is prettier in the reflection than it is in the sky. This is beautiful, Don

    Like

  2. The ancient stories are written in the rocks and rivers Don. Connecting to this energy we can learn so much about our own journey. You are blest living in such a beautiful part of the world.

    Like

  3. Hariod Brawn says:

    Such a lovely image and scene, Don, but I demand to see it in higher resolution! 😉

    “Have you also learned that secret from the river, that there is no such thing as time? That the river is everywhere at the same time, at the source and at the mouth, at the waterfall, at the ferry, at the current, in the ocean and in the mountains, everywhere, and that the present only exists for it, not the shadow of the past nor the shadow of the future.”

    ― Hermann Hesse, Siddhartha

    Like

  4. Val Boyko says:

    You have captured the serenity and light at this moment … a place to rest awhile just as the river seems to be 💛

    Like

  5. I like your take (and Norman Maclean’s – ” I am haunted by waters.”) as they refer to life. I once researched a river whose flooding had washed out a little town’s cemetery that dated back to the late 1800s. Those waters continue to haunt me, Don, so I appreciate the living calm of yours.

    Like

    • Don says:

      That couldn’t have been easy Marylin. I can imagine how something like that must haunt one. I remember reading about a similar event and just how traumatic is was for people.

      Like

Leave a Reply

