The World At Your Feet

img_3411

The late afternoon Winter sun has a golden glow about it. I was walking through the forest behind our home and saw this on the ground. Sometimes beauty lies at our feet. I often find that looking down has rewards of its own.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Contemplation, inspiration, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The World At Your Feet

  1. I totally agree – always keep your eyes open and take in the beauty all around.:)

    Like

  2. What a precious gem you’ve captured.

    Like

  3. Very pretty, such a beautiful color! So true about the “beauty that lies at our feet.” My sig line on my email account… Heaven is under our feet as well as over our heads. ~ Henry David Thoreau
    I think it is a great quote for photographers… 🙂

    Like

  4. Dan Antion says:

    What a great find, Don. Looking down, looking behind, looking away from the place we hope to find a photo, often results in wonderful shots like this. I love the light.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Val Boyko says:

    The light is so special when it shows itself. What a lovely capture Don 💛

    Like

  6. The light creates so many pretty colors this time of year! I guess like life, it depends what perspective you come from. Lovely Don 🍀🍁🌿

    Like

  7. Hariod Brawn says:

    Yes Don, there’s frequently a beauty in what might easily be overlooked. It’s often as if our senses are too keen to absorb experience, or something – over-extending, grasping. There’s really no need.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Hariod. Yes, I agree. Our senses were just not made to grasp at reality

      I have tried to respond to your comment on your site without any success. I can’t post the comment and many of the other comments are just columns of one word above the other. Not sure what has happened. Will try again.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hariod Brawn says:

        Thanks Don, and I have your comment all safe and well, for which thanks very much. All comments go into moderation automatically as I clean them of typos – though yours won’t need doing. I can only assume you’re viewing a highly nested comment thread on a smartphone or small screen and that’s why you’re seeing everything squished up. Some of the exchanges are 6 or 8 levels deep and narrow with each progressive nested comment, so only really display effectively on a proper monitor until the next thread opens with a new comment from someone else. No need to try again – all is well, and I shall approve and respond again tomorrow. Many thanks, Don, I appreciate your interest in my incoherent ramblings, and you’ve enriched the whole thing with introducing me to Paul Tillich.

        Like

      • Don says:

        Thank you Hariod. I get what you’re saying. I see now it only happens on my mobile. May I say there’s absolutely nothing incoherent about your posts. They are superb.

        Like

  8. It’s amazing how many wondrous beauties are there all along, ready and waiting for us to pause, take a breath and open our eyes, Don.
    Yesterday after taking a plate of Christmas goodies to an elderly neighbor who lost his beloved wife several years ago, as I was coming out the back door, I saw a small planter of Hens and Chickens still thriving on the sunny side of his house. My daughter and I made that planter for his wife four years before her death, as she was going through chemo. It still blooms even in the winter, and seeing it yesterday brought back all the joys of that day when we sat together and did the planting.
    I could almost feel her smiling, and when I turned to leave, her husband was standing at the back door, watching. “You can sense her,too, can’t you?” he said. “I get the same feeling.”

    Like

  9. Don says:

    What a wonderful moment, Marylin. Its moments like these that somehow take us into depths of life and which stir our hope.

    Like

  10. Don says:

    Your description here is so earthy and so simple, yet so profound, Marylin. Beautiful story. Thank you for sharing it.

    Like

  11. smilecalm says:

    how wonderful
    that even poison
    oak & berry brambles
    glow in the right light 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

