Nature’s Still Life

img_3396

A Still Life, no matter how good the artist may be in setting it up, will always have something artificial about it, and I don’t mean that in a derogatory way. It’s just a given. I suspect it has something to do with the intentional human placement of things.

However, when it comes to Nature she has this wonderful expression of natural placement. What is there, is simply there. I so enjoy exploring this particular element in her. It does something to me. Not sure what, but it does. The image above is one I took showing what I think to be an example of this. I was fascinated by the placement, especially of the sticks. I found myself pondering on how this little scene came together.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Nature’s Still Life

  1. nrhatch says:

    I suspect a human had a hand in its placement. 😉

    Like

  2. “What is there is simply there” If only we could accept this so easily in our daily life ha!! I can see you contemplating this arrangement in the photo Don. You have a thoughtful approach to life and all it’s hidden messages. That is a gift.🙏🏻

    Like

  3. Val Boyko says:

    Love how the human with the camera has captured this natural placement 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hariod Brawn says:

    Don, your first paragraph reminded of how Picasso has so often been paraphrased: art is the lie that reveals the truth. I believe his precise words were in fact: “We all know that Art is not truth. Art is a lie that makes us realize truth, at least the truth that is given us to understand. The artist must know the manner whereby to convince others of the truthfulness of his lies.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      I find this quote fascinating, Hariod. I’ve never come across it. I love paradox and this is certainly paradoxical. No doubt artists manipulate reality to convey truth. That last sentence, “The artist must know the manner whereby to convince others of the truthfulness of his lies ” is superb. May I add to it some words from Oscar Wilde, “No great artist ever sees things as they really are. If he did he would cease to be an artist.” Wonderful perspective Hariod. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I was in a college photography class that nearly ruined the still-life shots in Nature, Don. We were to find a natural scene and photograph it without moving any element. But then we were to move around it, changing our angle and perception, and recreate the meaning of the still life. If it began peaceful, we had to find a chaotic angle, etc. Then for the final shot, we were to use our hands of feet to move things around or kick them into a different shot that would fit in none of the previous meanings, but proved a quote the professor had given us at random. Even those who at first saw this as a creative assignment soon tired of it.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Sounds like you all had a good and creative time, Marylin. I suppose the exercise does liven up the scene and nurtures creativity, and I can certainly see the sense in doing it, but I can also understand something of why some tired of it. Didn’t know you had an interest in photography, Marylin. Do you still do photography?

      Like

  6. Dan Antion says:

    You and nature made a nice team on this one, Don. Beautiful photo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

