Creativity

img_3101

“You must get in touch with your creativity” is a statement that doesn’t sit easily with me. The older I get the more I realize it’s the other way around; creativity ardently seeks to get in touch with us. It is always naturally seeking and moving out from within that dark, silent and invisible world of immense possibility, wanting to manifest itself in the visible world. Our task is to simply feel its urge and desire, to greet it with deep appreciation as it appears, and then take it by its hand and lead it in to that unfolding space of visibility. This little shift changed my entire understanding of creativity.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Contemplation, imagination, Life, Nature, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Creativity

  1. Swati C. says:

    This thought has changed my understanding of creativity as well… It gives rise to the possibility that we are moving forward… May i reblog ? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a great concept, and one I certainly cannot argue against.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are so right, Don. Creativity is there in the air, like a butterfly, whether I want to see it or not. To try sheer willpower (you must) to catch it is bound, in the long term, to dim my sensitivity. The best I can do is give myself freedom and look in the dark corners. I’ve tried a number of books on creativity and found no one good. Have a great day, Don.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a wonderful outlook, Don. And, this is a beautiful photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Creativity – Spill a Story

  6. Dave Cenker says:

    So very elegantly stated, Don. The creative muse prefers to be courted rather than confronted in my own humble experience. You are obviously courting it very well, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Val Boyko says:

    Be ready to hear the call! Love it Dan 💛

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Hariod Brawn says:

    As always, Don, you stir philosophical musings from so few words. I wonder if you’re pointing to our need to drop the sense of agency, which we presuppose is ours, when engaging in creative processes? I don’t know if I’ve expressed that well, so perhaps another way of putting it would something like this: rather than sit down and think ‘this drawing will come to be as a result of my vision and my skill’, it is more like ‘this drawing will come to be by flowing through me, my vision and my skill.’ I’m guessing at the whole thing here, so help me out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Love your question Hariod and I’m sure you can work with it far better than I can, but let we share from my ignorance. I think the over emphasis own our individuality and ownership somehow creates the false perception that we own the process of creativity and ultimately what flows from it. I just cannot adhere to this. There was a time I did, but not now. Your way of describing it as something that flows through us, which we don’t own and invoke with our prowess, is where I am now. I can only recognise it in a state of humility and become its channel. That’s all. It flows through us all. It is beyond individuality and ownership, both illusions. I don’t know how this sounds to you Hariod, but that’s how I see it for now.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

