Outside the Window

img_3369

Whenever I stand looking out of a window I’m reminded of being on the inside looking out. What I see is always limited by the frames of the window. The full picture is just not available to me. My seeing is perpetually constrained and limited. Therefore, all my perceptions are temporary and I can never dogmatize anything I see and experience. There is, and always will be, more. It’s the distinction between narrow sight and wide sight, or as others describe it, the distinction between small mind and big mind.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Communication, inspiration, Life, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Outside the Window

  1. Dave Cenker says:

    Absolutely beautiful photo, Don. And although you may not get the full view with this photograph, I surely appreciate the window you do provide, both to the external world as well as the internal mind. To enjoying the details of the present view, and to expanding our mind to all the wide open visions we are able to absorb.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a lovely photo, Don and an important lesson. I like the way you wrap these together.

    Like

  3. Hariod Brawn says:

    The trick is in seeing the window and what lies beyond it all of a piece, I suppose? The brain takes the raw visual sensing of glass as if it were nothingness, inconsequential, and so its frame of reference is itself literally framed by the window in that it consists only in what lies beyond it. We may be talking about different things, Don!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      I think I grasp something of what you are saying, Hariod. You have taken it to a level that is far more profound and you have really got me thinking. I love the challenges you present and you do it with such grace.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ladyfi says:

    So true! And such a great shot too.

    Like

  5. smilecalm says:

    intriguing image!
    happy new year
    to you, Don 🙂

    Like

  6. 1katiejoyce says:

    LOVE this! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  7. Love this Don. You describe it so well and the picture is beautiful. Stepping into the unknown of life is always a limited view, but our mind and our ability to expand is limitless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

