Closing Blog

After much thought I’ve decided to close my blog. This will be my lost post. I have enjoyed blogging immensely, but have now reached a moment where I know I need to let go. It hasn’t been an easy decision as I have built such great relationships with so many of you. That’s the hard part, but I know its right for me to do this. Thank you so much for what you have all meant to me and for taking the time to read my ramblings and nonsense over these past years. I have appreciated deeply all my contacts with each one of you and you have all enriched my life in ways beyond explanation. I shall certainly treasure all the memories of these special contacts and engagements.

I’m so enjoying my life in England and the new experiences and challenges that are coming my way. I find that I need to create time to engage with these, more. So, thank you from the depths of my heart, and I wish you all joy and happiness on this marvellous journey we call life.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Closing Blog

  1. Though we are sorry to see you go, there is no better thing in life than to find something that will be fulfilling and make you happy. Best wishes for the your next leg of your journey! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  2. renxkyoko says:

    Nooooo ! I’ve always looked forward to seeing that worn pair of boots. I’m really saddened by this.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I am very sorry to see you go, Don. I have enjoyed your photograph and the insight you match with the photos you’ve shared. I wish you all the best. I hope you keep the link active. If you ever decide to share something in the future, I’d like to know.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Don, I am so sorry to hear this. I do so enjoy your blogs, I know I wasn’t a consistent visitor but I was and still am struggling with my lack of motivation to blog. I am thrilled to hear how happy you are in England. Have a wonderful time living your life with family there and enjoy every minute of it! I am not going to say goodbye because you just never know if the blogging bug will hit again!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. seaangel4444 says:

    Oh my goodness, Don!! I will absolutely miss you terribly! I so enjoyed your blog, your photos, and your dear self! I wish you and Jane the absolute best in England. I know it was a huge move for you both. Please stop by my blog anytime as I would love to hear from you! With my most sincere respect and admiration, Cher xo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Susan Scott says:

    All best wishes Don – my sentiments exactly re all the other comments.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. tomsimard says:

    Sad to see you go, Don.

    Continue to enjoy the journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. nrhatch says:

    If you have a change of heart ~> it’s OK to post “just once in a very blue moon” . . .
    I wish you all the best!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Darrel H says:

    All the best Don! I feel kinda sad to see you go… but totally understand your reasoning. all of this often can feel like “clutter. – even over the distance you have always been a sort of mentor figure to me. and that I am thankful for. I am glad I still have you on Instagram. And I believe a picture paints a 1000 words… PS. None of your ramblings were ever nonsense. Godspeed! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Thank you Darrel. There has always been a freshness and openness in you which I have valued immensely. You observe life with a depth not often seen and our conversations have always been good and challenging. See you around. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Anonymous says:

    Peace, Don. You brought good things us.

    Like

  11. Anonymous says:

    Peace, Don. You sent kind and thoughtful words, and interesting images to us.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Jeffery. The poetry you have shared on your blog has been an inspiration to me and I have found deep insight on your blog. I have sensed your quiet poetic spirit and wish you well. Thank you.

      Like

  12. tiramit says:

    Best wishes Don, who knows you may decide to come back after a year or so and some of us will still be here…
    T

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Who knows? Thank you. May I say that your beautiful descriptions of being in the moment as you see and experience it, have moved me and inspired me to do the same, not very successful, but I am getting better at it. Thank you for that gift.

      Like

  13. There is a time to flip the page and start with a new blank page. Many thanks for having been there and good luck to you, Don.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Hariod Brawn says:

    A beautiful exit, Don, one worthy of the artist that you are and of the lovely sensibility you consistently exhibit. You have been a such solidly reassuring presence within the blogosphere, with a unique gift for invoking deep reflection from the most immediate, concise and graspable of textual or visual suggestions. Fare well, Don.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Harriet, you have always been so gracious and in a remarkable way you have been to me a quiet kind of mentor. Your insight, wisdom and extensive knowledge, and your graciousness, have been such a gifts to me. Thank you for what you have given me. Appreciated more than you’ll ever know.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I shall miss you, Don. I have enjoyed your thought provoking posts and your sketches. When a new adventure beckons, it is to be welcomed and embraced, as you have your move to London and I wish you all the very best with what is to come. Have fun and may your days be full of beauty. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      Thank you Sally. Your blog has been such a joy to me. The simplicity and beauty of everyday things in your posts has never ceased to amaze me. It’s been a joy sharing in what you have so freely given. Thank you and may you continue to find joy in your beautiful things. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  16. I wish you joy and love and purposeful living Don. I will miss you. ❀
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Oh I will miss you Don. Your beautiful drawings and thoughtful posts have always inspired me. With a deep appreciation of nature, we both understand it is always changing and letting go just like we should and so thank you. It’s been a pleasure to know you.,May abundance and peace always be with you. πŸ™πŸ»πŸƒπŸŒΏπŸ€

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Sorry to see you go, Don. Wishing you all the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. doubledacres says:

    The best of luck to you. I hope everything works out great for you.

    Like

  20. Kathy says:

    I understand completely, Don. I’m in the process of doing much the same here and feel reassured by your perspective. You have been a great companion on my journey and I value all that I have gained from the way you have engaged with life in general, but in particular the context we both know. I’ve been able to let go of things here with gratitude for what I’ve received and will carry with me always. Every blessing and much joy to you as you move on, taking us all with you somehow πŸ™‚

    Like

  21. Olivia May says:

    Wish you all the best, enjoy your life with blogging or not …

    Like

  22. Tim Attwell says:

    Hi Don, while I have not often commented on your posts I have enjoyed reading them immensely. They have been very welcome and refreshing reminders to me to stop, observe, interact with my surroundings and breathe. You have also been inspirational to me as a colleague in the process of redefining yourself and what you have to offer. I’m sure you will give expression to your creativity and empathy in other ways and I wish you much satisfaction in developing them.

    Like

  23. ladyfi says:

    Your wisdom and insights will be sorely missed! Enjoy the real world out there.

    Like

  24. Yelling Rosa says:

    Thank you for having been with us. I wish you all the best ❀
    YR

    Like

  25. I always enjoyed reading your post and will miss them but I realise it can be very time consuming.
    There’s a place and time for everything and now most importantly you have chosen to live life.
    Best of luck and best wishes with it all !

    Like

  26. Changes never cease. May your decisions and new life bring you all that you seek.
    You will be missed. Eddie

    Like

  27. Gosh, well dammit, Don – I am reluctant to say goodbye to one of my favorite amigos in cyberspace but totally understand. I think this must have been a struggle for you since you moved and who knows? You may decide to let it morph into another passion in another time and place.
    Regardless, I will miss you and your words of encouragement. Warmest wishes from Casa de Canterbury to you…

    Like

  28. Oh, no! Well, then, goodbye and best wishes for health, happiness, peace, prosperity, and lots of fun with lots of people!

    Like

  29. josna says:

    Hello Don,
    I’m writing very belatedly to let you know that I enjoyed your blog very much, both when you were based in South Africa and after you moved to England. it’s rare to find a blog with original art and thoughtful, thought-provoking writing. And as someone who finds it hard to be succinct, I always appreciated your ability to make an insightful observation in a few words, leaving me thinking about it, and stimulating thoughts of my own. Anyway, thank you, and all the very best to you and your family. I will miss our exchanges.
    Josna

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Josna. So appreciate your comment. I too thoroughly enjoyed our exchanges and shall miss them. Thank you too for your marvellous posts written and expressed so beautifully. They were a wonderful to read. Go well and may joy and happiness be yours.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

